my temporary neighborhood

Neighborhoods are really important to me. I want to be comfortable and at home in my immediate surroundings. I like it when there is something to look forward to on my way home. And I am pleased to announce that my current (albeit quite temporary) neighborhood is the perfect candidate! Let me show you what I mean…

It may look kind of empty (aah, Sunday mornings :) but if you look close enough, you’ll notice Someone Was Here…

I’ll take that piece of advice any day! :)

This shop above, on the other hand, has pretty much got life figured out. I still haven’t seen it open, though, so I can’t tell you if their food is as good as their motto.

I actually took these photos on the walk from my new neighborhood to my old one. Don’t you just love this juxtaposition of pretty fence and wild plants? And just a few meters away from the city hall!

I also find it hard to resist signs whose style reminds me of other, older times…

Of course, it’s my weekend excursion, you know there’s always one thing that comes up: a street band! :) This time with a particularly inspired lead man… :)

Oh yeah, and I’m still close to the river! Always a good thing.

And this fellow is just around the corner. I’m not a particularly big fan of horse statues, but this one looks somehow… friendly.

I think it’s a good sign. This neighborhood and I are going to be good friends, even if the friendship is short. :) I leave you with a sight that’s becoming quite ubiquitous, as London busily prepares for its free-city-bike scheme…

I hope you all have a busy (the good kind of busy) week! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “my temporary neighborhood

  1. I’m gunna visit London to see my brother soon :) wish I was coming for Knit Nation but meh! I’d love to live down there for a bit, just to see what it’s like :)

  2. A free city bike? Like bike rentals for free or something? That would be amazing. Everything looks so colorful and warm and, well, happy. :) Definitely a good thing for a neighborhood!

    • Well, it’s free for the first 30 minutes. It’s a scheme similar to the one many cities already have, I think it’s been especially successful in Paris, Oslo, etc… Some more info here: http://www.tfl.gov.uk/roadusers/cycling/14808.aspx I’m not sure about biking in London, though, this city is ridiculously dangeorous for cyclists. I hope the scheme ends up having an improving effect on that!

      • That’s a great way to encourage cycling, and especially helpful for tourists. I’ve noticed there’s a lot of that in Europe and I really appreciate it (although I still don’t do enough cycling myself!). Fingers are crossed that Londoners get used to cyclists. :)

Leave a Reply

