everything a knitter needs

It’s time for KnitNation report! :)

As these things usually go, I was a bit disoriented when I first got there. I did a few rounds about the hall first without focusing on anything specifically, to quiet down all the colours and shapes and sounds spinning around in my head. :) Already on those first rounds, though, I noticed that the expo had managed to put in one big room everything a knitter could need.

Yarn. Doesn’t it just look like candy? :)

While I was doing the rounds, I was stopped by a lovely lady who introduced herself as The Weirdo. She was, of course, referring to her earlier comment – where she said “If some weirdo stops you at KnitNation, it’ll be me.” It was SO lovely to meet one of my readers in person (it was my first!), and we had a really nice chat. So, just for future reference, if any of you other weirdos ;) ever notice me somewhere, please shout out! :)

Needles. I’m not a big fan of wooden needles, but they do look lovely all together in a big heap, don’t they?

The stall-owners really exhibited a huge amount of imagination and wonderful ideas. I was impressed by many a shop sign, and especially the one that was made by wrapping individual cardboard letters with various-coloured yarns (I know they were cardboard behind the scenes because I asked, enthusiastically. I wish I had also paid more attention to the name of the shop that was spelt out in them.)

BIG buttons! (by Toft)

(My hand is there to demonstrate how big exactly the buttons are.)

The one thing I thought was missing was an indoor area to sit down and knit in, in the company of other knitters. There was lots of lovely space for knitting outside, but with so much space knitters kind of kept to themselves and to the people they had come with. It seemed to me that if there had been a designated area, people would’ve socialized more and met more new people. I did make some completely unexpected friends, though, while giddily trying out every little thing at Ysolda’s booth. Miniemoll was just as giddy about it, and we even had a go in the photobooth together! She had the soundness of mind (which I often lack) to ask for my Ravelry name before we parted, so we linked up very easily online later. Do check out her blog, she has detailed reports with lots of yummy photos from both days. :)

And lastly, adorable needle-rolls and project bags made out of geeky fabrics (by The Bothered Owl).

Spending time at this stall was one of my favourite parts of KnitNation, but I’ll tell you more about that tomorrow!

If you’re thirsty for more reports and photos, check out A Girl in Winter. And tomorrow, finally, you get to see my spoils. Patience now… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “everything a knitter needs

  1. So much good stuff! I’m jealous that you got to go. It looks like so much fun.

    And to answer your question from my blog, I’m going to be living in the UK for a year, starting in October, to do study abroad.

  2. The first picture with yarn candy is Easyknits (easyknits.co.uk) :-) Got to chat with Jon about spinning and turkish spindles, possibly my next addiction :-).

    It’s great that at least someone took pictures, I had my camera with me but never took it out of my bag… too busy drooling over the yarn :-)

  3. It was lovely to meet you! And when I got home I realised that I already had your blog in my google reader, although I don’t think it’s been there long, I’ve a feeling someone linked to it recently and I added it then. Like most of the others in there, I need to catch up with it!

    I know what you mean about areas to chat – I made a real effort at the party to go and talk to people, but most folks just sat at tables with their friends. Hell, I can see my friends any time! I want to meet new people.

    It was Lucy (Rosealare on Rav) who was with me at Ysolda’s stall, in case you were wondering.

Leave a Reply

