do the twist!

Do you follow the Twist Collective? If you don’t, you should! Just sayin… :)

It’s a free online knitting magazine with great articles and lovely patterns which you can purchase individually. I like this approach a lot because it lets you choose and pay for only the things you really want to make. Let’s be honest, what’s the average number of patterns from a single issue of a magazine that you want to make? For me, it’s about 2 or 3. (Yes, I’m very picky when it comes to patterns.) I guess that kind of makes it worth the price – though not always, and especially if you’re buying it in a small country where foreign magazines are difficult to get and the shopkeepers thus set sky-high prices for them. But even if it did make up the price, I just get annoyed that I’m forced to buy the whole magazine with all these patterns that I don’t like! That’s why I like Twist. You get the magazine features for free, and you get to choose which patterns to buy. Works out well for the designer too. :)

I’m definitely going to be buying Stratocumulus.

Interesting construction that creates a wonderfully romantic pullover, and a cloudy name = perfection!

And the feature that totally blew me away in this issue is What would Mary-Heather wear? I love Mary-Heather’s style, I love the colours used, I love the cheerful tone of the shoot, and I absolutely love that the knitting world has taken up Ysolda’s cue of presenting designs in real-woman sizes. Aaaand, this is so going in my queue.

What about you? Do you like Twist? Will you be making anything from this issue?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “do the twist!

  1. I absolutely love that cityscape cardigan. I mean really love it. And I could learn how to do a steek. But I have sworn to finish my wips before I start anything else. :(

  2. This is my absolute favorite issue of Twist! I love most of their issues, but this one stands out for sure. I can’t wait to CO for a lot of the sweaters.

  3. Thanks for the link. I really like some of the things in this issue, although I haven’t had a chance to have a really good look yet. I must admit to being quite keen on quite a few.

  4. I love Twist, too, and this issue is a particularly good one. I like a lot of the designs this go ’round, which is good, because many of them aren’t really suited to my shape (the Stratocumulus, for example). My favourites of the remainder are Promenade, Peregrine and Hawthorne.

  5. I -love- clothes being modelled by real size women! What use is it to see a lovely jumper paraded around by a stick insect, make it and remain forever disappointed by the huge difference to how it looks on you? Frankly, I can do without that disillusionment. Which is why I hardly ever make something from a commercial pattern. Now if a garment is shown on a woman of size 16 or 18, and it looks great… Wowee! That would turn the pattern into a must-immediately-buy-and-make item!

Leave a Reply

