plant-dyed yarn

I was working away busily on this little fellow…

… when I went to get a snack and then got a little shock when I looked at my hand:

At first I wasn’t completely sure if the yarn was to blame, but a quick glance at my left index finger, which sported a stripe of blue right in the spot where I always hold my yarn, removed all doubts. And this was just from knitting for 15 minutes here and there between studying. After I settled in for the evening and did about an hour of knitting while watching some TV, it got a lot worse. My whole hand was literally dark blue. And it took several sessions of vigorous scrubbing to get it off… :P

I guess that’s what you get with plant-dyed yarn. Well, hopefully it won’t be leaving any blue colour on my hair when I wear the hat. :) Yes, it’s a hat, not a scarf. Don’t believe me? Wait and see! ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

11 thoughts on “plant-dyed yarn

  1. whoa, that’s a lot of dye transfer! it’s a bit time consuming, but let the yarn sit in a heavily slated water bath- the salt helps fix the dye so that it doesn’t bleed.

    • Oh thank you for the suggestion! I just have a few questions, won’t the salt make the yarn lose its softness? How long does it have to sit in it? Should I rinse it afterwards? Ivana

    • I fully agree, even a scarf would be suspect… Imagine wearing a white shirt, for example! I’m hoping a hat will not be as problematic, but I’ll definitely try the vinegar/salt suggestions before wearing it to minimize damage. Ivana

  2. No experience with this but I’ve heard vinegar helps fix the colour. You’re supposed to add some to the water in which you then soak the yarn or the garment. Hope it helps. Do let us know how you solve the problem.

  3. Oh wow! I’ve had dye from transfer onto my fingernails and the tips of my bamboo needles, but never that badly! Actually, I think it only happened once with a rogue skein of Cascade 220. I definitely second the vinegar suggestion. It helps a lot.

  4. Pingback: out of the darkness « fridica

Leave a Reply

