cool summers are good for something

When you finally deliver a scarf you’ve been making for more than a year, and which turned out the size of a (not so) small blanket, at least the recipient can put it to use immediately.

And I think she liked it as well! It’s gonna go well with her new, wait for it now, mint bag. Soooo jealous! :) She used it in a few different styles immediately, wrapping it around herself several times (I wish I had a photo of when she wrapped it in such a way to create a scarf and a hand muff, the kind that Russian princesses wear). Aaand she liked the bulkiness and the enormousness of it. Yay!

I know I promised a review of Soak to go with this FO, but honestly – I really don’t have much to say about it. I’m rather unimpressed. Not that there was anything wrong with it, but if you were expecting any sort of magic – I didn’t notice any. No super-softness or anything like that. Sorry to disappoint, perhaps someone else can enlighten us more?

In the meantime, all I care about is that another FO found a happy home. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “cool summers are good for something

    • Oh silly me for not mentioning the pattern! I’ve written about this project so much that I thought it would just be repetitive… It’s Bobble Scarf by Ann Budd and it’s a free pattern which can be found here: http://www.knittingdaily.com/media/p/19750.aspx My only mod was to do it in seed stitch rather than single rib (so basically you do k1p1 as if doing the single rib, but you knit your purl stitches and purl your knit stitches as they come along). And I made it much longer than the pattern required! The whole thing is super simple and has a great effect, I highly recommend it! :)

    • It’s funny, last summer I was in Norway and absolutely despizing the cold and rainy days (it really was more like late fall than summer), but this year I’m ok with it. Though I have to say the summer in London is more mild and comfortable than cold, so I quite enjoy it :) And it was actually warmer here than in Croatia, when I visited a few days ago (what on earth is going on in the Mediterranean this summer I have no clue!).

  1. Very cool! It looks really snuggly and warm, and also versatile!

    Re: Soak, I think a lot of the appeal is in the nice scents. : )

  2. I love it when a FO is loved and appreciated! You did a wonderful job, I need a scarf like that… and in that color. Everything I’ve been doing lately is either red or grey…

    • Lively colours are so great for knits! I’m always attracted to pastels myself, but every time I’ve gone for something livelier and more expressive, everyone (including me) has absolutely loved the result. So go for it :)

Leave a Reply

