did I ever tell you?

About meeting Ysolda at KnitNation…

Ysolda is my absolute favourite knitwear designer, and I met her once before at an event, but I was still quite excited!

Especially when I realized I got to touch, try out, explore and play with the designs from her upcoming book!

The book, Little Red in the City, should be arriving in about a month. I already have my eye set on this adorable cardi (called Chickadee, if I’m not mistaken), and my Mum’s definitely getting a cardi out of it as well. I’ve shown her some previews online and she loved the hooded capelet (shown in blue and red).

In the first photo both Ysolda and I are wearing Coraline, which is in my queue as well. And the Farinelli gloves in the middle photo are just the most amazingly fitting things I have ever tried on. I’m not a big fan of knitting gloves because I can’t seem to make the fingers without big holes at their base (between two fingers), but these make me want to practice more!

At her stall, Ysolda had a photobooth where you could take photos of yourself. I had heard about this from a previous event and was quite excited about it, but I had no idea that the photos were also immediately printed so you could take them home (for free!) – how cool is that?! Since the age of digital photography has set in, I print out so few photos, and it’s just not the same when to have them in your computer or when they’re right there, physically, somewhere in your room, and your eye can catch them without the deliberate intention of turning on a computer, opening a folder, etc… So I am cherishing these and keeping them at my desk because they make me smile…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

12 thoughts on “did I ever tell you?

  1. Those photos are so cool, you look beautiful! I wasn’t brave enough to try out the photobooth (I am not photogenic). I’m so excited about Little Red in the City – counting down the days until it released…!

    • Does that mean you know the actual date of release? There’s been a discussion on that on Ravelry, but no one seems to have the definitive answer. It seemed to me that Sarah had mentioned something about September 12th, but I was shot down by others when I said that and told it would no way be in the first half of September…

    • I must make a confession – knowing the photobooth would be there, I took special care with my appearance that morning… :) And those gloves – they just make you feel like a diva. :)

    • You never know! I was blown out of my mind when I first met her, and then I managed to see her twice in one year (and actually talk to her, though I must have come off like a crazy person, I was so excited :) I’m really glad to have discovered your blog, I’m gonna go and give it a thorough read now :) Ivana

Leave a Reply

