and then, slowly…

…it started resembling a cardigan!

Wooooohoooo! Top-down cardigans are such magic, being able to try it on to make sure it fits as soon as you’ve finished the yoke and separated the sleeves is brilliant! I am in love with this technique!

I’m leaving the photo headless, though, because (trust me on this one) I’m not a pretty sight at the moment. I was wondering yesterday why the guy who served me my coffee had given me such an odd look, but then I glanced at my reflection in the lift mirror and understood his feelings completely. I think zombie is the word he was looking for… A few more days, I can do it! Right? Ummm… :P

Oh, and while we’re at it, all this trying out of Liesl at such an early stage has made me think that I should reconsider boleros/shrugs. I’ve always thought of them as rather useless items of clothing, more accessories actually, and never felt quite right when I tried to put them on. But this image is making me think… :)

Do you have an opinion on boleros/shrugs?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “and then, slowly…

      • I think it does draw a lot of attention to your chest the way it is in the photos, but only because the light green contrasts so much with the black of your top. If you wear a less contrasting top underneath, it’ll probably be perfect.
        And it’s definitely looking very good :)

      • Thank you! That’s a good suggestion, I was only wearing the black to make sure you could see the cardigan well, I assume normally I would wear it with a white shirt underneath so the contrast shouldn’t be so stark :)

  1. It’s looking great!!! Love the colour + it fits you fantastically. And no, it doesn’t draw too much attention to your chest, it’s just perfect!

    I share your attitude toward boleros but since I discovered Ravelry, I’ve seen so many nice models that I’m reconsidering them too :)

    • Thank you – I can’t take credit for the colour, since it’s the exact same one that Ysolda used for the prototype (I liked it too much to change!), but I’m absolutely loving the yarn (Artesano Aran) and I’ve been spending some time thinking about other projects I could use it for. The details of the colour are just so gorgeous, there’s hints of blue and yellow and different tones of green that you can’t see from afar, but that absolutely delight me as I work with it!

      And I agree, lots of nice boleros on Ravelry… :)

    • Oh yay! I was putting off Liesl for the longest time because it looked quite complicated (I’m not exactly the master of lace knitting so the idea of making an entire sweater in lace kind of scared me). Let me tell you – it is ridiculously simple! And the lace pattern is easy to memorize, simple and addictive (also, only every fourth row is lace, the others are just knit and purl, so it’s the perfect combination in my book). And when those waves start coming out of nowhere, it’s makes me squeak :)

  2. Pingback: Liesl « fridica

Leave a Reply

