Malabrigo icecream

Before I left London I had to make one final visit to Loop and its yarny wonderfulness… I came away with a colourful skein of Malabrigo that was just too interesting to leave on the shelf.

I had realized earlier that I had somehow grossly miscalculated the amount of yarn I would need for the Side slip cloche and ended up with about 125 grams extra!

Since the leftover yarn is white, I wanted something more interesting to combine it with. This seemed like just the right thing!

I’ve always liked stripes that combine a solid and a variagated yarn and this seemed like the perfect opportunity to try it out myself. The colours of this yarn remind me of melted chocolate-strawberry-vanila icecream of my childhood and I was really curious to see how it would look offset by white stripes. I’m not so sure about the result yet.

I also added the detail of starting of with one row in the contrast colour, then doing the ribbing in white, before going on to alternate 2-row stripes. I’ve always liked that effect, but I’m not sure I’ve found the best way to do it. It looks ok, maybe it could look even better with a different technique?

In any case, the hat is too big as it is and will have to be ripped. I’m just not decided if I should do something different (slightly or completely different) when I cast on again. It does look lovely on the wrong side, though… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “Malabrigo icecream

  1. I always like the reverse side of stockinette better. Can you tell I’m a garter stitch fan? :) Good colour combo, will you have enough for a pair of mittens too?

  2. Pingback: winter icecream « fridica

Leave a Reply

