sunshine

When I used to tell people I lived in London, a joke on the rainy weather would follow more or less immediately. The only way to deal with those is to grin and bear, I learned, and not even try to explain to people that it really doesn’t rain that much in London, and that it almost never rains the way it does where I come from. As if to prove my point, the heavens came down on Zagreb yesterday… and went on and on and on. When it seemed like we were never going to see sunshine again, though, it appeared all of a sudden. I jumped at my opportunity and snapped a few shots of something that’s been making me smile ever since it arrived in the mail on Friday…

A little summer and sunshine in the form of stickers!

I missed summer this year, it simply got away from me… I tried catching up with it in the last ten days, follow it around Europe, but it managed to escape every time. So this at least brings me a little bit of summer!

And then there’s this snow-white shower mitt! Sorry if the photo is a bid blinding, I am utterly amazed by the whiteness of this thing!

And this perfectly formed shower sponge. I can’t believe someone crocheted this by hand, I am really awed! And all for me!

I love surprizes. I absolutely adore receiving mail. But what I’m loving even more are these ‘surprize’ friendships that I’m developing through the blog and that result in wonderful mail surprizes every once in a while. :) Thank you so much, Misha, you’ve brightened my days! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

3 thoughts on “sunshine

  1. Wow, a crochetted sponge! I’m impressed. Oh, so you’re in Zagreb now – it’s a nice city as well.

    Oh yeah, I know what you mean about rain in UK and the comments. I actually did not own an umbrella that year that I spent in UK. That would be unthinkable in Switzerland or in Lithuania.

  2. What lovely gifts. How thoughtful. It is great to get things through the post isn’t it. I come from London but I can’t remember it raining any more than anywhere else really. Although we do talk about the weather all the time!!

  3. A sigh of relief here now that it’s all arrived safely and in one piece :) Glad you like it :) The sponge was my first attempt at hyperbolic crochet, which, even though my geometry days are luckily over, I found really interesting. Hyperbolic planes are allegedly difficult to construct artificially but are found in nature (e.g. lettuce) and can be produced by crochet (of all things!). So, enjoy your non-Euclidean baths!

Leave a Reply

