kid classic

One of the recommended yarns for the project I’m currently making was Rowan Kid Classic, and since I had the opportunity to get it, I decided to try out what it’s like to actually knit something in the recommended yarn. And to tell you to truth, that ended up being the only reason. Already at the store I knew that I would never ever pick up this yarn on my own – it’s simply not my type.

Unfortunately, as I’m knitting with it, that observation is being very firmly reestablished. The composition is 70% lambswool, 26% kid mohair, 4% nylon. The feel on the fingers is a little rough, and I find barely any elasticity in the yarn, which makes it tiring to knit with. It also has quite a bit of an ‘aura’, which can be nice, but I’m just not into it…

See what I mean?

That said, the resulting fabric is nice, and I’m sure it’ll be a lovely hat. Also, it is undoubtedly quality yarn; even if one doesn’t like it, it would be difficult to claim that it wasn’t well made. And my favourite thing about it – the balls become more and more beautiful as you use up more yarn…

These photos were taken with two thirds of the yarn gone, and I was just smitten by how well the ball held up and what a lovely sight it hid inside. In comparison to the disaster that was a ball of another Big Name yarn company, Rowan definitely gets a thumbs up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “kid classic

  1. I never think of myself as a kid mohair person, but I do like how it knits up- there is something lvoely about the fabric it creates when knitted with larger needles. And I’ve read that mohair is very ‘in’ this seasons! :P

    • Luckily I only bought three balls… I’ll just have to figure out what to do with the leftover once this hat is finished, and then I’m done :)

Leave a Reply

