not a proper photoshoot

Yesterday I was having one of those I’ve-got-nothing-to-wear-and-I-look-ugly-in-everything days… I’m sure you know those… ;) So as I was flicking through my closet in desperation I came across this little feller who has been waiting for a photoshoot so patiently ever since mid-August.

So I snapped a few hasty photos in order to finally show you the finished product. The truth is that I hadn’t taken pictures before because, despite liking the hat a lot (and regardless of whether I’m having a good or bad clothes day), I really don’t think I look that good in it. So it will be given away, I don’t know to whom yet, but I’m sure the right person will come along eventually.

And I will be jealous! The fabric is soft and smooth, it’s a true joy. The pattern is simple and romantic. And the colour is white as snow… Perfect for those dark winter evenings… :)

This was my first time working with Malabrigo and I am impressed by what a nice fabric it made. In the photo below you can tell without much effort that the brim has been blocked while the rest of the hat hasn’t. The brim is also stretched a bit (I made its length very close to the circumference of my head), and I think that shows off the beauty of the yarn best.

I haven’t quite figured out how to block a hat of this shape, so if you have any suggestions, shout out! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

13 thoughts on “not a proper photoshoot

    • Thanks for that link, I block my berets on plates regularly, but this isn’t quite a beret, more a cloche… I’m looking forward to finding the ‘right’ owner for it :)

  1. That hat turned out great! Very cute. I wonder if it would help with blocking to stuff it with tissue paper/small towels/wadded-up plastic bags to hold the shape you want while it dries.

  2. Oh, this is such a cute hat! I love the colour. I’ve been doubtful about this pattern for a while, but now that I’ve seen your version it’s the first on my winter knitting list!

  3. Oh it’s lovely- perfect for snowy winter walks and ice skating and the like. Hope you find it a good home; at least you had the pleasure of knitting with such lovely yarn, even if you won’t be keeping the end results!

  4. Pingback: a proper photoshoot « fridica

Leave a Reply

