seven down…

After leaving the hat to block last night, I was itching to start a new project, and the skein of Manos that I bought at Knit Nation for a Scroll Lace Scarf was looking at me so pleadingly. At first I wasn’t so sure about how it was coming out in the pattern, but the further I go the more I like it! The edging includes a total of 28 repeats of a 14-row motif, and this is how much I’ve got so far.

… twenty one to go!

When I’m faced with something like this, I tend to divide it into smaller ‘units’ or ‘assignments’. For this, seven pattern repeats seemed like a small enough yet meaningful unit, so I’m trying to do seven in one go. That way, I’ll be done with the edging in only four knitting sessions… How do you deal with having to do many repeats? Or does the phrase “repeat this 27 more times” not horrify you at all? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “seven down…

  1. It looks pretty :)
    When there are a lot of repeats, I usually calculate my progress in percentages. It’s usually the only way I can feel I’m making progress.

  2. I just knitt. Without anny hard thinking and calculations. As I usualy knitt while watching TV, it sets me free of counting.
    Can that pattern be seen anywhere?

  3. The beginning looks great!
    I usually try just to concentrate on something else (tv, book, etc.) and just knit… after some repeats, when I already know the pattern by heart, it just flows

    • Thank you :) I’m afraid this isn’t TV material, the pattern requires concentration even after you memorize it. Or maybe I’m just not that good at multitasking… :)

Leave a Reply

