sideways

As the project of removing the chaos from my knitting continues, one of the key activities is dealing with all the loose ends (metaphorical and literal) lying around. This means ripping what needs to be ripped (as seen yesterday), but also finishing what needs to be finished. The great thing about the latter is rediscovering things I had been looking forward to wearing before they dropped into the ‘almost done, but not quite’ abyss!

This is the Sideways Grande Cloche, for which I bought the yarn at Knit Nation. It is finally finished and I couldn’t be happier about it!

The construction of this hat is really interesting, and produces a simple yet stunning effect. It’s also done incredibly quick!

I made a few modifications, some procedure-wise: knitting the crown in the round rather than flat (I always avoid seaming if I can!)…

… and some design-wise: I removed one side strap and created a straight band rather than a cable. I just couldn’t make the design work for me as it was and I really love it this way!

I’m so proud of myself for having the courage to personalize a design and make it just right for me! And I’m sure that will add to the joy of wearing it… :)

Do you like it? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

20 thoughts on “sideways

  1. I love it – and good for you for modifying it and making it your own. It really suits you, and your whole outfit is amazing! The colours you’re wearing all go so well together, you look so autumnal and great! :)

    • That yellow skirt was bought on a whim last winter and somehow ended up being one of my absolutely favourite items of clothing. So glad to hear that other people like it too! :)

    • Isn’t it crazy how just turning the thing around slightly can make it look completely different? I love the look of ribbing turned sideways on this hat, it made me realize I want more patterns in that style! If you have any to recommend, please shout out! :)

      • I really like my Brattleboro Hat, the pattern was from the Fall issue of Interweave Knits. I think it’s also in a book called ‘New England Knits’ or something of that sort.

  2. Super ti je ovo ispalo, izgleda jednostavno a samo jedan detalj je totalno transformira kad je pogledaš s druge strane. I boja je fenomenalna. A ova zadnja slika je naprosto divna. Tko te to slikao?

    • Sestra, po mojim uputama… Mislim da nam se posrećilo da je tako dobro ispalo, samo je par puta okinula :) Boja je stvarno fenomenalna, kao duboko more…

Leave a Reply

