it was about time!

I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth. Yet, anyways… :) Sorry for the prolonged silence, I’m finding that blogging is very similar to exercising: as soon as you skip one day, you’re twice as likely to skip the next one as well… It might also turn out that I’m out of my a-post-a-day phase at the moment, but I think that’s ok, I want to take my rhythm as it comes naturally and we’ll see where that takes us! I hope you agree :) Well, here’s a little something as a bribe ;)

I may not have been posting in the last two weeks, but I sure have been knitting!

I finished my Scroll Lace Scarf and I am extremely happy with it! At first I wasn’t attracted to this pattern, but seeing a sample knit up made me change my mind. And I’m really glad I did!

I owe a huge thank you to a girl in winter for helping me figure out the pattern: for some reason I found myself completely unable to understand how the lace edging was supposed to work. The errata for the pattern made things even more complicated, I couldn’t tell what was correct and what was incorrect anymore, which way to look at the chart, in what direction to knit… Ugh! And what did this amazing lady do? First, she offered help even before I knew I would need it. And then, once I realized I did need it, she wrote out the entire lace pattern directions for me, and answered a gazillion other questions as she went along! Knitters are awesome people. Thank you so much!

The yarn is the amazing Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend. It does not require words. Only sighs. :) I modified the body of the scarf a bit to use up as much of it as I could. Out of the one skein, I was left with a few meters, and I’m sure they’ll come in handy some day…

My other modification was to knit a few rows of garter stitch before binding off. I hoped it would prevent the rolling (in the end I think blocking had more to do with that) and honestly – I was a bit lazy.

I absolutely love my new scarf. I usually wear much bulkier stuff in the winter, but for these transitional days it is perfect. And I am sure it will get its decent share of wear in the spring as well. Especially considering the fact that it makes me want to frolick… :)

Oh, and can you tell I’ve had a little bit of help with the photos lately? My sister kindly agrees to assist me now and then and listens to my instructions very patiently. She is also very good at pretending that I’m not making silly faces and doing silly things at all… ;)

Tomorrow, the story goes on… We shot another little piece of scrumptiousness today!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

22 thoughts on “it was about time!

  1. Such a pretty scarf! And how lucky you are to have a sister that’s willing to take photos. My siblings aren’t so willing so I asked for a tripod for Christmas! The one time I did ask for their assistance in taking photos I had to downplay my wackiness.

    • I’ve done a little bit of it by now, all on projects like this – where it’s a small element of a larger non-lacey thing. I think it’s a good way to start with it… :) And some yarns are very ‘forgiving’ so even if your lace work isn’t perfect, it blocks out nicely :)

    • Thank you! I know what you mean about long and narrow – that’s exactly what attracted me to this scarf. I’m not that much into shawls because they are mostly triangular and I don’t wear that kind of stuff (though there are beautiful shawl patterns out there).

  2. Happy to see you posting again! I definitely agree that there’s no point posting for the sake of it & it’s better to wait until you feel like it… but I’m very glad you felt like it yesterday :) Knitters are indeed awesome! I *love* that scarf – had never really been attracted to it before but it’s so wearable and I bet it’s really cosy in that lovely yarn. The lace looks so pretty but it’s also a proper scarf, which is all I really crave in winter, despite the fact i think i’d enjoy knitting elaborate lace shawls and whatever.

    Love your dress too!

    • Thank you! The dress is just a little 10euro Zara thing from a few years back, but it’s really wearable and comes in handy for all sorts of opportunities :)

  3. Beautiful scarf, very feminine but seriously, seductively so, without being girly or aunty. And great photos :) I love that shape too. Triangular shawls have too much fabric in the central section.

    • “without being girly or aunty” hehehe I love that comment :) I completely agree on the too much fabric in the centre… That’s why I don’t normally make shawls…

  4. Very lovely scarf! I like your photos. It’s nice to have help to capture just what you want. Much more tiresome to do it all alone. Post at your leisure! No deadlines or strict requirements necessary!

    • Thank you, I’m actually surprized at how good my sister is at following my instructions closely! I do need to work on getting better colour in my photos, though, still struggling with that one…

Leave a Reply

