winter icecream

As you may recall, I had this crazy variegated skein of Malabrigo worsted that I had been trying to use up in combination with white (to tone down the craziness a bit), but wasn’t too happy with the first results. Luckily, recently a new pattern appeared that I knew immediately would be the solution of my problem! Not only did it work perfectly, but it made the whole thing look even more like a wonderful icecreamy cake of joy! :)

The pattern was literally published two weeks ago, in Alexandra Tinsley’s Go Go Malabrigo Vol 2. I’ve had my eyes on Alexandra’s patterns for a while now, and finally they seem to have jumped up to the top of my queue! The day I finished this, I started another one of her patterns, and finished it in two days (you get to see it soon). They’re simple, quick, but interesting.

What I really love on this one is the shaping – it’s not a beret, but it’s slouchy. That’s not always a good combination. On many hats I’ve seen that ends up looking as if you just made your hat too long and you have all this extra material kind of just hanging there. Not on this one.

More interest is added to the plain stockinette body of the hat by somewhat irregular striping. Rather than the typical 2 rounds of MC – 2 rounds of CC, Alexandra gives you a more diverse rhythm of colour changing, where you’re sometimes only doing one round in a colour, and sometimes three. Such a small change for such a huge difference in effect!

Finally, there are the crown decreases, which gave the hat its name – Hypnotica.

I am completely in love with them! I’ve never seen similar decreases before, but I definitely want to use them on more projects!

Overall, I am extremely happy with this pattern and my hat. I will definitely be making more and I am really looking forward to coming up with all sorts of different colour combinations… In the meantime, I’ll be snuggling up with my Winter Icrecream… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

25 thoughts on “winter icecream

    • Thank you for the link! I’m not big on close-fitting hats, but this particular type always leaves me in awe – it looks like you really need to have great skill to make it! I love the colours on yours, by the way…

  1. Very nice! I like the decreases a lot too but I’m particularly taken with the pattern at the edge. It goes really well with the stripes and looks just lovely!

    • It’s corrugated rib, 2×2! I love the look of it as well. The only worry I had was that it wouldn’t be elastic enough for a hat band, and it is indeed quite tight but luckily not uncomfortably so. :)

  2. Perfect use for the yarn, and I definitely know what you mean about the shape of the hat – it’s perfect! love it!
    Thanks for the link to the patterns – had never heard of them but I have a couple of skeins of malabrigo that could use a destiny…

    • I’d love to see what you make with them! :) I’m not the biggest fan of Malabrigo in the world, but it sure has its advantages – I probably should have mentioned that this hat hasn’t been blocked…

  3. Pingback: variegation madness « fridica

Leave a Reply

