wabbit

The post gods have been kind to all of us, and the parcel I sent out only yesterday afternoon has arrived to its destination already. So now I can reveal this little treasure to you…

The pattern is Wabbit Season by (again) Alexandra Tinsley, from her first Go Go Malabrigo collection. The moment I saw it I knew it was the pattern I had been waiting for ever since I started knitting. I’ve wanted a nice, personalized and unique earflap hat for myself forever!

Ummm, ok, somehow it turned out that this one isn’t for myself, but I’m working on that, don’t worry! Let’s consider this a test knit… ;) And, if I may say so myself, the test was very successful! I love this hat.

It came out a bit big because I wasn’t watching my gauge too much, but I also knew my friend’s head was slightly bigger than mine. Apart from that, I added one structural modification: five rounds of seed stitch before binding off the body, because the edge was rolling without it and I didn’t like that. I think it also gives a nice parallel to the earflap pocket (yes, those are pockets!) borders, when the earflaps are up.

(Sneaky on-the-lookout-for-wabbits face…)

Finding the perfect buttons in your stash is always a happy event! I originally intended to go with a different contrast colour for the braids, but the buttons inspired me to go purple…

Oh yes, and then there are the pom-poms. Ooooh the pom-poms! I made the braids that hold them extra long, for no other reason but fun!

And here’s a few ideas of what you can do with them…

If it’s cold, tie them together in three easy steps! :)

Or, if you’re feeling silly, well… :)

I hope you all have a lovely and silly weekend! I know what I’ll be doing – there’s already a second Wabbit on my needles… :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

26 thoughts on “wabbit

    • I got carried away! :) In the end I worried they might pose a problem, because the recipient does a lot of bike riding and these things can get caught in chains etc, but she’ll work it out somehow ;)

  1. This is absolutely adorable! I was waiting to see what it was based on the pompom pictures :D. I am going to go grab that pattern. There is alpaca waiting for this lol!

    • Too much free time on my hands? :) As you (I think it was you) said a few months ago, if I remain unemployed, at least I’ll have that big stash to use up… It’s coming true…

  2. You are adorable! I love these pictures!! I am sorry but I can’t even look at the hat because these pictures. I like it, but still these pictures are awesome!

    • Hehe, can you believe my Mom took them? She was so patient and took the matter super-seriously, as if we were doing official photos for something :) It was so sweet :)

  3. cosy!! my favourite hat has ear flaps, my mum knitted it for me and it’s great! i love having warm ears! i’m sure your friend will love it too :)

  4. Pingback: yellow and white « fridica

Leave a Reply

