repetitive?

I’m feeling a little repetitive lately, as all I seem to talk about are giveaways. But things lined up as they did, and after all, there are worse things in the world than giveaways, so let me go on for now… :) The thing is, I’ve won twice in this month! Is that crazy or what? Now, I’m not one to enter giveaways frivolously, unless the prize is something I would really like to have, I don’t bother. But I do keep an eye out for them, which this Ravelry forum topic makes much easier. And when I really like the prize, I put my name down…

And then, sometimes, sometimes, sometimes, something like this arrives to my front door.

Mmmm, candy! :) The culprit here is Ms Tammy G, of Life and Yarn or Yarn and Life, who had decided, as a celebration of her blogiversary, to reward someone with a goodie bag from the famous Rhinebeck sheep and wool festival! The Random Number Generator was on my side that day and I was ecstatic when I realized… :) To make things even better, it turned out that Tammy had once been to Croatia and she put together a wonderful post about her memories from there/here. What a cool connection!

The package finally arrived today (yes, when it comes to mail speed I may as well live on Antarctica :D), and it contained more goodies than I had expected! First off, the above pictured happiness squeezed into a skein, which is the Persimmon Tree Farm Pot Luck Yarn.

It’s a sportweight and I got about 250 yards of it – if anyone has pattern ideas I’d love to hear them! It’s so squishy and cheerful, I want to make something really special out of it.

Secondly, there was 200 yards of Hudson Valley Sheep & Wool Co. Shetland Lace Weight. Can you believe it’s the first laceweight yarn in my stash?! Well, it’s definitely a good beginning :)

I have no idea what one does with a laceweight, though. And can anything be done with 200 yards? If you’re a laceweight knitter, do enlighten me, please :)

And finally, there was a lovely project bag with a Rhinebeck badge on it, as well as the list of exhibitors and programme for Rhinebeck. It felt as if I was practically there!

I couldn’t agree more with the sign on the badge! And Tammy rocks too! :)

What is there left to say? Well, I’ve been thinking – we need to celebrate all this luck I’ve been having lately! So, very very soon, we’re gonna have ourselves a nice little giveaway here… Just give me another day or two to get organized. In the meantime, hugs all round! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “repetitive?

  1. you seem to be on a roll :) good for you!
    just wanted to let you know I went to my first ever yarn shop here in town yesterday.. well, actually, they keep yarn on the side, but still.. :) haven’t bought anything, still want to check the one in Zg.. :)

    • That’s a nice suggestion, I’ve seen such knitted items before and they look cobwebby usually :) The only problem is that I am super clumsy and I bet I would tear the thing very quickly… :P

  2. Congratulations! You sure are lucky!!! :)))

    I love that yellow variegated yarn! It looks gorgeous! I don’t have a particular pattern in mind but a hat and a pair of mittens or a neck warmer could be an option?

    As for the lace, 200 yards of lace go a long way so I suppose you could make a shawl or a shawlette out of it. What comes to mind immediately is Wisp, Easy Lace Stole or Feather and Fan Short Scarf. Try narrowing down the advanced search at Ravelry for yarn length and weight.

  3. I have no suggestions for what to do with the yarn candy You’ve got, surely big congrats though :-D. But luck has nothing to do with it ;-), it is a destiny ;-).

    Btw, I just love Your posts, there is that Something. So warm and always positive, they just make me smile. Also like the hugs and sending you one back from a cold corner of Sweden ;-).

    • Thank you for such a lovely comment, it’s really nice to hear from “hidden” readers :) I’ve never been to Sweden, so I’m happy that at least my hugs go there :) Hope to see you around more often! :)

  4. What lovely yarn, both of them! I love that laceweight, I am not too sure what you could make from it but you could try knitspot? The yellow yarn…hmm, maybe mittens would be a great way to show it off? Or a cowl? I can’t wait to see what it becomes, so pretty!

Leave a Reply

