for a male

A few months ago, I very rashly did a terrible thing: I promised an adult male to knit him a scarf. I had been horrified by the group of holes (that were beyond the repairing stage) in his old scarf and thought something along the lines of: “This would be a nice and easy thing to do for someone I love.”

Huh! This was in the summer months, and when the colder days came a bit later, the intended recipient inquired about his neckwarmer-to-be. I had sort of kept the thought but hadn’t thought it was time to act on it until that reminder. So I set out to find the yarn – we had agreed it would be gray (I had told him black was not an option, and gray was as ‘crazy’ as he was going to go colour-wise). I couldn’t find anything of appropriate weight in the shade I liked so I bought a fingering-weight intending to hold it double.

I picked a pretty pattern, even had it approved by him, but when I started knitting I hated the thing. I tried a different pattern and still all my stitches looked wobblier than ever before and all I could think was “not good enough, not good enough”. I ripped and restarted several times. Then I picked up the phone and said “Go buy yourself a scarf. I’m sorry, but I can’t work under this kind of pressure.”

A few weeks later we went to a yarn store together and bought a different yarn.

Side note: Men and shopping.
The first gray he noticed – “How about this one?”
Me – “Hmm, I don’t know, let’s look at some others.”
The second gray he noticed – “Ok, how about this one?”
Me – “Yeah, ok, this is nice, good composition as well…”
“Ok, so that one then.”
“What, don’t you wanna look at some more?!?!?”
“No, no, I really like this one.”
That’s it! We were done in 2 minutes! If only I could be like that when I’m shopping!

Anyway, I took the yarn home with me and didn’t dare even look at it for a while. I was terrified. Then the date of our next meeting approached suddenly, and I knew I had to face my fears. I did some sampling. More accurately, I made a swatch with 6 (six!) different stitch patterns and then asked three people to choose the one they liked best. After getting a consensus from them, I finally had to bite the bullet and commit to knitting 660 yards in this pattern and hoping it turns out ok.

As I knit, I really paid attention to my tension and making my stitches even, but they still looked super-wobbly and generally miserable to me. I despaired, but there was no turning back. I knit on the bus, on the tram, in the evenings, in the mornings, in breaks between work… I finished. I soaked and blocked.

And then the yarn rewarded me with the best of its magic – it bloomed and all the stitches turned from ugly ducklings into beautiful swans.

And he loves it. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

14 thoughts on “for a male

  1. This is a terrific scarf! And really, really beautiful photos too! (It makes me want to knit something in grey, oh wait, I already am! And, hahaha, it’s a scarf for my Dad!)
    What is it with men and shoiping? It seems to me like they want to run back out of the shop just as soon as they got there. What’s up with that? Too much choice?
    Well done on getting the yarn you wanted to knit with, on picking a wonderful pattern and on the tremendous achievement of finishing it so quickly and so well!

  2. It’s beautiful and really versatile. As for men and shopping, the other day that a friend and I talked about it and shared stories very similar to yours! I mean, my husband buys the first thing he likes, he has no need whatsover to go and check other shops. It baffles me every time!

  3. Huh, tacno razumem kako si se osecala !
    I mene uvek mori da li ce ljudima da se svidi poklon, da li ce im biti lepo da ga nose, i mozda nesto sto nije bas najlepse uradjeno ce ipak da vide i …. i… Ali onda, napravis jos nekoliko komada i poklonis, i onda i tu odrastes :)
    Predivno je ispao sal !
    Nekad ne ide, kunem se da nekad sama vuna zna da se opire – “Ne volim ovu mustru, ne volim !!”

  4. What a wonderful story and such a lovely scarf! It’s perfect and it’s great that he loves it!! Yarn shopping in 2 minutes, I could never do that with agonizing over all the choices and colorways, hehehe!

  5. Pingback: a pattern? « fridica

Leave a Reply

