embroidering

Last year, I made many new friends. When you’re one of a bunch of people from all over the world living in a student residence in a city that’s new to all of you, you get to experience and participate in other people’s lives in many unusual ways. And so it happened that I was sitting next to one of my favourite London people in our basement bar when his first child was born halfway across the world.

Needless to say, it was a pretty magical moment. He had been expecting the baby for a few days already, and was checking in on his wife every hour or so by phone, returning our questioning looks every time with “Nothing yet.” So when he got THE call, none of us, including him, were really expecting it. He had been calling and receiving calls constantly for the previous two days, without any big news, and we were getting used to it. But then, confused, flushed and overwhelmed, he managed to mutter that he had become a father.

There was another baby in the world, and it was HIS. The rest of us who happened the be there ended up being almost just as confused, flushed, and overwhelmingly happy as he was. :)

And I, of course, made plans for a baby sweater immediately.

And then, of course, it took me a year to finally get it done, so the little girl ended up getting it as her 1st birthday present. She is the joy of her parents (now happily reunited) and from the photos I’ve seen, seems to be the most cheerful baby in the world.

I may never meet her, but I will always feel a special connection to her. I was there, celebrating with her father, when her life opened up in front of her as a big clean fabric to be embroidered on.

It’s a feeling I’m not likely to forget.

More photos and details here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

17 thoughts on “embroidering

  1. A lovely post – it really is special to be involved in the birth of a new baby – I am sure the daddy was delighted to be able to share with you. I love your take on the owlet sweater.

Leave a Reply

