yellow and white

Several weeks ago, when I finished my first wabbit and showed it off on facebook, it received many delighted comments. In the excitement which this produced for me, I offered two friends who were the first to comment to make them their own wabbits. One of them took me up on the offer immediately, and within half an hour we had agreed on colours and everything else. Now that’s how I like doing business! (Well, not business, since it’s a gift, but you know what I mean.) She said she had a purple winter coat and that yellow or white would go well with it. Luckily, my stash contained the perfect slightly pale yellow in the right weight (I told you I’d put it to good use!), so I was all set.

Once the main part of the knitting was done, I thought I’d try including a bit of white as well, and the combination worked out just perfectly!

Luckily, I also found simple white buttons in my Mom’s stash which put the dot on the i pretty nicely, if I may say so myself.

This time around, I shortened the pockets by about an inch. When knit per pattern, they look good lifted up, but when you put them down, they’re just too long. I guess making them shorter makes them less functional as pockets, but let’s be honest – while that idea is supercute, it’s highly unlikely that she’d actually keep something in them anyway. I much prefer them this way. Now the hat can be worn even with the flaps down without looking overly silly. :)

I also made the braids quite shorter than on the first version. But one can still play around with them. :)

All in all, I’m super-pleased with this hat. There’s only one problem now: I think my friend will have to prise it out of my hands at the moment of handover… I want to keep this for myself! It’s just perfect for frolicking around in the snow…

Well, she won’t be able to pick it up for the next ten days… And there’s no harm if I wear it just a tiny bit… You won’t tell, will you? ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

8 thoughts on “yellow and white

  1. Hahahahahha. Umrla sam od smijeha na ovo. :)
    PREslatka si! :) <3

    Slobodno ti nju malo iznosaj, hladne su zagrebačke zime. :))
    Bit će dosta vremena i da spašava moja smrznuta uha kad se vratim iz toplijih krajeva. ;)

    :**

Leave a Reply

