holiday Liesl!

When I was knitting my Liesl, I decided to make it buttonless out of sheer laziness, to be honest. I was writing my masters dissertation then, and I think if I had provided any extra strain to my brain, even with such a tiny operation as choosing the best buttonhole placement, I would’ve cried. The happy consequence, however, is that I now have an item which gives me plenty of opportunities for creativity and versatility! You may recall my version with a big belt. Yesterday, I wore Liesl with one of the satin ribbons I picked up for it at the craft store.

The lace holes are big enough to pull the ribbon through them without a problem, and the yarn is resilient enough to go back to its original state after the ribbon is taken out, without leaving big gaping saggy holes behind. And the ribbon adds the perfect touch of flimsy that every garment needs, if you ask me. ;)

The final thing is, and I hadn’t noticed this until I uploaded the photos onto my computer, it all seems to come together in very Christmasy colours! Umm, especially if you pose in front of a huge pine tree with snow on its branches… :D

I guess then it counts as having started putting up my Christmas decorations! :) How about you, are you in the mood yet? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

17 thoughts on “holiday Liesl!

  1. Very beautiful! The bow looks very stylish with your lovely Liesl, what a brilliant idea! I don’t think it’s too Christmassy.
    I am really taken with the versatility of this. Have you considered my ‘shanked’ button idea? From my blog post on the black neckwarmer?
    I must check out the belt post!

  2. I love it! I’m not a fan of buttons, really. I hate to have to sew them on. I’ve really enjoyed your buttonless variations. If I ever get around to knitting Liesl, I plan to make her buttonless.

  3. When I first read the title post, I didn’t see the “l”. Took me a a minute to realize it was about Liesl and not holiday lies!

    Very pretty, I like how you can change the look with ribbon…..

  4. It has started to snow here, too! I read in your previous post that you’ve had snow for a while now. We only got it today, so I’m a bit behind with my holiday spirit. Nevertheless, I plan to make up for it soon!

  5. E bas sam htela reci kako izgledas kao novogodisnji ukras, u najboljem smislu :) Super izgleda na drugoj slici kad je suknja sira.
    Brrr, zar nije hladno tako napolju, na snegu, pa cak i kad je tako lep dzempercic ?? :)

  6. Jako mu dobro stoji ta traka i odlična ti je ideja da traku ne prišiješ. Pravim ‘mental note’ za to, da upotrebim sledećom zgodnom prilikom. Krasan je i odlično ti stoji! Jedna od onih stvari koja podjednako dobro ide s farmericama i s nekom elegantnijom garderobom.

  7. This looks so pretty!!! I love the color and the way it looks on you. It make you look super girly and cute!
    I hate making button holes too, so I completely understand your point of view. I have to say it looks perfect to me!

    Hugs
    Sabrina

    • Thank you so much! I’m so happy that this little thing is getting so much wear! It’s inspired me to make another sweater for myself. I just started today :)

Leave a Reply

