winter

There is a hat currently weaving its way through the postal offices of Europe all the way to Ukraine. I don’t know what comes to your mind when you think Ukraine, but for me winter is definitely one of the main associations.

And this hat has got winter covered! Even Ukrainian winter. ;)

It was knit with a fingering-weight yarn held double (a first-time for me, and much easier than I expected).

I think that made it approximately aran-weight, which is what the pattern calls for. It definitely made it extra warm and squishy!

And of course, it provokes endless sillyness…

Some patterns are such classics that you can just make them again and again and again and again. That is exactly how many times I’ve made Debbie Bliss’s Cabled Beret. Mind you, I still haven’t made one for myself. Hmm, maybe I should make it again

Is there a pattern you keep going back to? What’s your favourite classic?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “winter

  1. Great-great-great, love it!

    Haha, the outfit you put on to demonstrate this hat is just amazing – being silly is fun :)

  2. This looks beautiful! I love it!

    I don’t really have a classic pattern as I *hate* making things over and over again, but I did make 6 (yes SIX) of the Swirl Neckwarmer… not sure I’ll ever be doing it again, though. Just too much repetition for me. :)

    • Oh my, I am CONSTANTLY making things over and over again! I like the feeling of knowing the pattern inside and out, though at some point I do have to decide I’ve had enough. For a while at least ;)

Leave a Reply

