a goal

I’m quite wary of setting goals for the new year, for several reasons. One, because we all know the most common fate of such goals (they are usually eaten by the same monster responsible for the disappearances of odd socks). Two, because I’ve found that having to knit something, with a deadline, with a set goal to fulfill, makes me like the knitting less. And where’s the point in that?

I do have one particular goal that’s been sitting in my mind for a while now – to start making myself (and others) actual knitted garments, to wear, to be kept warm by, to snuggle in. Let’s be honest, hats are lovely and all, but they cover about, ummm, 7% of one’s body. And the winter winds are howling.

So here’s a start.

You are seeing the finished back of what is to be my Mystic Pullover, which went much faster than I had expected it to (ok, having nothing else to do but knit and eat for the last three days definitely helped), and I am as excited as a prancing lamb! The front has already been started, and I am pushing on with joy. I fell head over heels with this pullover when I first saw it and I am happy to report that the process of making it is wonderful too! So far the pattern has been very clear and simple, and I’m even looking forward to the seaming.

But what I’m reaaaaaally looking forward to is – the wearing. :)

What selfish projects are you working on now that all the gift knitting has been given away? :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

16 thoughts on “a goal

  1. sadly, i’m not done with my holiday knitting. but i have been taking some time out of other projects to try and finish a massive scarf for my man. it’s partially selfish, because he’s borrowed my warmest scarf for the cold…

    • I knit my boyfriend a scarf recently and wanted to steal it for myself in the end… Even though I had been complaining about how it was too simple while making it, I completely fell in love with it!

  2. I am just finishing a sweater for my daughter I think it might be done tonight. and then I am going to make myself a cardigan from a vintage pattern. I already have a sleeve done.
    It is a relief to do some selfish knitting after doing 13 hats for X-mas.

  3. Love the Mystic Pullover! It’s definitely on my to-knit list. The color of yours is so pretty. Can’t wait to see it finished. :)

    I like your goal, btw. Not too specific, so it should be easier to accomplish!

    • I can’t say I’m as thrilled about the others as I was about this one (i.e. NEEDED to make it immediately), but there’s definitely a few more that I might make at some point. I’m working away on this busily, I just can’t stop! :)

Leave a Reply

