to match

The Mystic Pullover is coming along nicely, and I frequently find myself lost in daydreams about how snuggly and wonderful it will be… On one such occasion, it occured to me that it would be lovely to have a pair of thick socks to match it, so that my feet could be all snuggly as well.

Immediately, I remembered the Wealthy peasant’s socks pattern, which I’ve had in my queue for a looong time.

– photo from the pattern and linked back to it –

Everything about it, the yarn weight, the cables, the name even, just yells out snuggly! I’d have to modify it a bit since my yarn is a worsted weight (the pattern calls for aran), but I think it’s doable. And the two would make a lovely pair, don’t you think? :) Perfect for kicking back and reading a book on these cold winter evenings… (…and this is where I go off into the daydream again…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “to match

  1. Ooh, they’re gorgeous! Seriously snuggly!
    I love the XO effect on them. I think I may have seen this kind of pattern as OXO before (like the oxo tower in London! teehee).
    Enjoy the pullover and the socks, both making and wearing them!

    • Thanks! I actually had to force myself to take a break with the pullover yesterday – I was getting to the point where the front is almost finished and I just wanted to get it done, but then I realized I was pushing myself too much. I might resume today… The thing about this pullover is that there’s a lot of work in the finishing – sewing the pieces together, knitting in pockets, picking up stitches for the collar and waist ribbing… I think it’ll be a lot of fun though!

  2. Ah, daydreaming about other projects while still working on a completely different one… I’m sure we all do it. The socks look like they’re perfect for cold winters.

  3. Daydreaming is great isn’t it? :) Hope the pullover is going well. Though maybe you really do want to make socks to match. I can just see how cosy it would be…

Leave a Reply

