my year in knitting

Re-caps of the year seem to be the thing to do on blogs these days, so I thought I better jump in as well! And not without good reason either: I think it’s fair to say that 2010 has been quite a watershed when it comes to my craft. It brought about a multitude and an increasing variety of finished objects, as well as lots of thought on the craft.

I’ve been blogging for almost a year (I started in early January) and it has definitely had an effect on my knitting. It’s forced me to learn better photography, it’s made me articulate what seemed to be only incoherent thoughts (but sometimes turned out to be very strong positions), sometimes it gave me motivation to go on, and it made me realize that, even though they might not be present in my physical life, there is a whole community of fellow-crafters out there to support me.

At the end of 2010, I am even more in love with knitting than I was at its beginning. I think that says it all.

Here’s what I made in 2010: Lots and lots and lots of hats. Five baby sweaters. Two pairs of unbelieavably adored mitts. Three scarves (including my first ever man-knit). Tiny shoes. A pullover for a 12-year-old. And a cardigan for a 28-year-old. :)

My wishes for 2011 are to continue adding to that list and to continue sharing my knitting journey with you guys! Thanks for being around and may 2011 be the best year ever! ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

21 thoughts on “my year in knitting

  1. Neverovatno je koliko si stvari i to veoma lepih napravila ove godine! A ako sam dobro shvatila, pletes nepunih par godina. Moram priznati da si me podstakla da malo vise razmatram tehnike pletenja, narocito sa vise boja. O raznim tehnikama nisam ni razmisljala, iz prostog razloga sto na nasem podruciju u zadnjih 20-30 godina nisu izlazile nove knjige, pletenje jos uvek nije rasireno a i u mojoj blizoj okolini niko se ne bavi istim. Zato hvala na inspiraciji i divnim postovima.

  2. Have a wonderful, blissful 2011!
    I don’t need to wish you success with your craft, you’ll have that! All the very best in all other areas of your life too. May your dreams and aspirations come to fruition.
    Happy New Year!

      • Fantastic, yes! A meeting would be great. If you’re ever in London and you need a place to stay, let me know. It would be lovely to see you. Fingers crossed. 2011!

Leave a Reply

