a walk

We haven’t gone for a walk together in a while, have we? :) Well, as I mentioned yesterday, I went on a little trip in the first week of the year, to a city which surprized me with its loveliness and coziness. So I’m taking you along for what was my first walk in Brussels, Belgium! :) The weather is quite wet and grey, so we won’t stay out for too long, but I hope you like it anyway…

Brussels is the capital of the EU, and it seems that even the sidewalks are boasting about it…

There are cute castle-like houses all over the place.

Horses are allowed in parks.

The king lives next to a big parking lot.

Modern architecture surprizes you in the most unexpected of places.

There is a proper cupcake shop (no city is complete without one!).

And biking is encouraged.

Though, honestly, what surprized me most was how easy and quick it was to get everywhere on foot.

I’ll definitely be back to Brussels, and hopefully the sun will shine a bit more the next time, so I’ll take you for another walk… I hope you liked this one! What city has surprized you lately?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

21 thoughts on “a walk

  1. Lovely!!! I’ve never been to Brussels but it looks like a charming city :) Love the cupcake shop!

    I haven’t been on any big trips lately, but I have been to some small towns in Northern Greece that were nice, with a lovely view of the mountains.

    • My friend and I were commenting that there’s a very definite cupcake-shop style, no matter where you go, they always have this pinky cutesy look to them… :) And I’d love to add small towns in Greece to my list!

  2. i Love to take these tours of other cities right from my chair. Places that I will never go but I just love to see.
    I agree that ever town should have a cupcake store..and a book store and hopefully a fabric or a yarn store. the town I live in doesn’t have a cupcake only store but there is a cafe named Sweetie Pies and they have an assortment of desserts and of course you can have a sandwich too.

    • You’re right. I kind of assume the bookstore and the yarn store, but good ones can’t really be assumed. I’ll add that to my list of requirements ;)

  3. Did you find a yarn store? One of the things I envy about people who live in Europe is how easy it is to visit other countries. I live in the Northeast in the US. Canada is about a day trip car ride from here, about 10 hours. But that is it….

    • I did! Two of them! One was really tiny but well stocked with lots of foreign yarns, such as Rowan, Noro, Debbie Bliss… I was impressed. The other was a chain craft shop called “Veritas”, which had a good range of equipment (I picked up two circular needles) and quite a bit of yarn. The yarn was a bit messy because it was in the middle of sales, but they had some good discounts to make up for the messiness!

    • Thank you! I received some pretty disappointing news yesterday just moments before opening the email from Hannah, so it was a very very welcome surprize :) I like the design of your blog, so neat and clear, I’ll definitely be following! :)

  4. We don’t have to travel far as the shop with yummiest cupcakes is literally across the street from where we live. Next to the beautiful bookshop with knitting magazines and regular storytime sessions :) but, must mention recent trip to Geelong, cute little town with wool museum and best craperie in the whole world!!

Leave a Reply

