a proper photoshoot

Once upon a time, there was a hat. The hat was knitted in four days during one chilly month of August. In those four days it managed to have quite an adventure: fly on a plane, see two different countries, take a bath. However, it never managed to get a proper photoshoot. Not in those four days, and not in the four months after it. All it got at first was this. And I can tell you, the hat was not happy with that. It cried and cried, and hid in the closet.

And then, after many many months, one lovely lady came along. The lady asked angrily: “What has been happening here? Why is this beautiful hat made to hide in the closet? I will not stand for this!”

“Hat,” she said, “would you like to come with me? I’ll give you a good, loving home. I’ll take care of you well.”

That hat didn’t hesitate a single moment. It had heard from other hats already that this lady was the nicest owner in the world, and it was thrilled that she had chosen it to take home with her! It jumped on to her head and settled there happily…

The lady was happy too. She had found a new friend. From that day onwards she took care of the hat, wore it, and loved it.

And guess what? She even gave it a proper photoshoot.

The End. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

19 thoughts on “a proper photoshoot

  1. Kapa je veoma lepo je ispala !
    A cini mi se da si pre nekoliko meseci pomenula kako ne volis da citas bajke i fantastiku, a ova prica je tako lepa, kao bajka :)
    (ili mozda i gresim, oprosti mi na tome…)

  2. i recently gave away a hat that i had knit for myself, but i felt i didn’t have the proper appreciation for. it is much more satisfying than seeing the poor hat languishing, waiting to be worn.

    your hat is so pretty! plus, i have envy of the gorgeous coat pictured here.

    • Thanks! Just when I thought my photos were getting good, my friends come along and do something like this… I think they might become my official photographers! ;)

  3. Adorable!
    It’s a fairy tale that momma hats tell the little baby hats who dream of growing up and having an owner to cherish them.

  4. Truly lovely story!

    How’s about writing a story book and adding a pattern in each story? Or a pattern book, where each pattern has its own story? ;)

    • Hmm, I can’t remember where it was exactly, but I’ve seen/heard of a children’s book about a pullover which came with a pattern at the end… :)

Leave a Reply

