kirkstone

Today, I’m very happy to present to you a brand new pattern that I recently had the opportunity to test-knit! It was my first test-knit ever, and I was very nervous about knitting fast enough and providing the right kind of feedback to the designer. I also felt kind of important about the whole thing: I, I would be helping making sure other knitters had no problems or confusions when knitting the pattern… Hehe, talk about ego! :)

But enough about me. Meet Kirkstone, by the young designer Lily Kate France.

It’s a quick little hat in DK weight with a very cool cable pattern that makes me think of geometry. It’s as if the cables are bumping into each other and bouncing away, forming triangles due to the laws of physics.

While knitting, you only ever have to hold one stitch on a cable needle, which means that this is the ideal project to get the hang of needle-free cabling. As for the shape of the hat, I dare say Lily has hit perfection: the back of the hat lies wonderfully flat, without the pointiness that sometimes results from decreasing, and there is a nice amount of slouch, yet with a brim that does not slip off the head easily.

The pattern is easy to follow and constantly interesting. And with such a cute result! If you’re intrigued, hop on over to Ravelry, where it is now available. :)

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

25 thoughts on “kirkstone

    • I agree, I always forget how lovely knits look in vivid colours! My cabling could’ve been better though, I was a little disappointed that blocking didn’t “correct” any of my cabled stitches to look more even…

  1. What a great design. I had noticed the short sleeved cardi she had designed in the knitter magazine and thought it was lovely. This is such a great colour too. It really suits you.

  2. Boja mi je odličan a i stitches! Nespretno oko čak nebi ni zamjetilo pletenice! A i neodoljivo me potjeća na žicu (da, žicu – ne znam ni sama zašto)!

  3. It looks absolutely gorgeous! The green is such a pretty color too. Lily is really amazing for such a young age and knits beautifully too. I can see her reaching high places with her knitting!

  4. What a coincidence! The previous blog post on my blogroll was also a test-knit for that pattern! Nice! I’d love to test knit one day, but I’m such a slooooooowwwww knitter ;-) Good job!

    • To tell you the truth, I’ve wanted to be a test-knitter for a while, but as I’m picky about patterns I waited until something really good came along. I think it was the right choice :)

Leave a Reply

