a tiny treasure

I was sitting at my desk yesterday afternoon and I happened to glance over to my yarn shelf, where a skein of madelintosh which I had won in a giveaway at photo.knit.dog caught my eye. I’m not sure if I can reconstruct exactly the events that followed, but a few hours later I somehow ended up with this.

And you know what? I don’t feel guilty about it at all! I love using special single skeins to make cherished little baby items. The added bonus is that this yarn is a superwash, which means that busy young parents will be able to stick it directly into the washing machine and not worry about a million specific care instructions.

Who am I making it for? I have no idea! But I figured it wouldn’t be bad to have an adorable pullover in a newborn size lying around for cases of gifting emergency. I’m that age now when friends are popping up pregnant all over the place! ;)

According to the pattern notes I should have just enough yarn. If I run out I’ll simply shorten the sleeves (I’ve used that trick before).

Also, very cool piece of trivia: mine is the 100th project for this pattern on Ravelry! :) Happy weekend! I hope you end up with a joyous unexpected knit too! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

13 thoughts on “a tiny treasure

  1. It looks lovely. I love Madelinetosh wool. I’m knitting the Ringwood gloves from Knitty in Tosh DK at the moment. So squishy and yummy.

    • I’ve been dying to try madelintosh for a while, but it’s sooo expensive, I could only “afford” it by winning it in a giveaway. Good thing I was lucky! :) This is fingering weight, and it’s nice, but not oh-my-god-out-of-this-world amazing. I have a feeling I need to try some of the heavier weights… Oh well, until the next lucky giveaway ;)

  2. Yay for baby items knit out of gorgeous skeins! I’m totally with you on that. To me if it’s superwash it’s usable, no matter what it is! And I just love the thyme color for a baby. Too cute!

    • I have to confess I’ve made baby items out of very special non-superwash skeins as well. For such a special and unique gift, what’s it to parents if they have to take care of it a bit more carefully, I say ;)

  3. it looks so adorable already!! lovely skeins are perfect for baby gifts, and you are so right- someone will have a baby eventually, and when they do- you’ll be ready with the perfect gift!

  4. Awww, that’s adorable! Some of my friends are just getting married, so I suspect I’ll be knitting baby things in a few years. But not yet. I kind want to though, there are so many cute things.

    • Exactly! :) I have a few things going simultaneously right now, but I’ll be sure to post it when it’s finished :) I’m past the raglan increases so from now on it’s simple stockinette – it’s always good to have at least one such project lying around…

Leave a Reply

