thoughts on an impulsive cast-on

1. It feels so good to be knitting with aran weight after weeks and weeks of light fingering.

2. It’s amazing how it literally grows in front of your eyes.

3. Ssquisheeeeee!

4. I can’t believe I considered making a full-sized, mid-length, long-sleeved dress for myself in that same light fingering yarn. A sleeveless, toddler-sized one felt like an eternity.

5. There are other things I should be working on right now, but I DON’T CARE. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

15 thoughts on “thoughts on an impulsive cast-on

  1. Sometimes you just have to knit…even if you do have other obligations. Heaven knows I do it all the time.

    I made the same toddler dress and I agree, it really did feel like forever sometimes.

    • Oh, when I wrote “I should be working on other things”, I meant “knitting other things”. But yes, you’re right, there are real-world things I should be doing as well. Oops! :)

    • The yarn is a dream. This is meant to be a vest, but I’m still kind of debating if it’s a waste of this yarn to turn in it into something that won’t ever be touching my skin… It really cries “lush scarf!” when you start ribbing in it!

  2. Hee, I know what you mean! I finished a massive Shetland shawl (2ply laceweight) that I’d been working on for months and immediately went on to a plain stocking stitch, Aran weight, drop shouldered jumper – finished it in 9 days flat. SO quick. Feels nice to be getting through the queue again (though the jumper was for a commission and there’s another one to go)

  3. I completely relate on #5. I was supposed to be finishing a sweater for my great aunt, but then – whoops! – I knit a pair of mittens for myself!

  4. Mmm, greeeen.

    I’ve been thinking about a knitted dress for a while now. The red one in the Holiday Vogue in particular. Thing is,
    that dress is a whole lotta look, and not one I’m sure I can pull off.

Leave a Reply

