startitis

I’ve been having a serious case of startitis lately… I’m not sure why, but it might have something to do with working on bigger projects that take a while to complete. I have been working on my Mystic Pullover on and off since around Christmas, and quite a big chunk of my knitting time in January was taken up by the Little Sister Dress. I didn’t have a problem with that – I enjoyed both and made sure it stayed that way. Whenever they started boring me or annoying me, I’d put them aside for a bit, and it worked out very well like that. But in those moments of respite, I tended to start other things. Some of you may have noticed, but for those who lost count, here we go…

My list of works in progress (all started since around Xmas):

  • one adult pullover
  • one adult vest
  • one baby pullover
  • three (three!) pairs of mitts

And then, there’s also this:

I got the idea for it and I couldn’t resist trying it out! And you know what? I don’t feel bad about it! I’m on top of these things. And I’m actually enjoying having different projects at different stages requiring different skills and different levels of attention.

The only thing is, I’m kinda running out of WIP boxes… :D

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

23 thoughts on “startitis

  1. I think you can have a million WIPS and as long as you’re having fun and not feeling overwhelmed then it is totally fine. A knitters’ WIP number is her own business! Keep having fun.

    (you can always find more boxes)

  2. :) :)
    Pored toga sto se pletilje dele kako pletu, delimo se i na one koje prave zalihe i one koje ne prave…. i one koje kad pocnu jedno, to i zavrse, ili ovako – vise stvari odjednom …..

    Ja uvek kazem – pletenje je zabava, zadovoljstvo, hobi… te necu da me tu more brige, i sta je pravilno ili ne… Zato, uzivaj, znam da mozes :)

  3. I know how you feel! I do think it’s useful to have different projects. One thing I like to have is a light colored yarn, to work on in the evenings and I’ll knit a darker project during the day. Then I have lace for traveling (time flies!) but I like simple st st or garter stitch when I’m out for a coffee. Enjoy your projects and cast on as many as you like! :D

  4. Isn’t that the truth :)
    This one looks like very fat yarn though, you’ll have this finished by tonight with the speed that you are knitting :)
    I had to brake from my WOman mittens as well and making a doll of all things….
    Ran into a pattern goof and waiting for interweave to figure it out. So I guess its back to the mittens LOL

  5. Iskreno ću priznati da sam pokušala paralelno raditi na dva projekta … jednostavno mi ne ide. Bez obzira na veličinu projekta. Ako me pletivo zamori obično preskočim na kompletno drugu aktivnost koja nema veze s pletenjem, ali istovremeno nikad ne pletem dvije stvari. Valjda zato nemam problem niti sa serijskim započinjanjem pletiva, doduše, nemam ni čime započeti novo dok ne dovršim postojeće. Koji sam ja štreber?! Kad dovršim, recimo kada sam u fazi spajanja, krenem polako u kupovinu, naravno ako imam ideju što bih plela. Ako insipiracije nema, nikom ništa, odem u kupovinu kad se inspiracija vrati. Svejedno, jako dobro razumijem zadovoljstvo u započinjanju novoga, to i je najzanimljiviji dio, kad tek trebaš vidjeti kako će mustra “sjesti” na vunu, koji uzorak se formira isl.

    • Svaka ast! Ja uvijek imam vika materijala doma… to se zapoinjanja tie, ja s njim imam neki love-hate relationship. Ne volim nametanje oica jer nikad nisam potpuno zadovoljna koliko su ujednaene (naravno to se kasnije ne vidi, ali smeta me to nisam u stanju to napraviti “savreno”), ivcira me to na poetku igla malo tee prolazi kroz oice i to se sve izvre na kablu jer nema jo teine pletiva da ga lijepo dri… I tako, tih prvih par redova mi je uvijek gnjavaa, a opet, volim poinjati zbog uzbuenja novog projekta! :)

  6. I am one of those strange knitters who rarely has more than one project going at a time! Well, at least not more than one knitting project – I frequently have a knitting project interrupted by a sewing project and vice versa!

  7. It’s always good to have projects that require different level of attention in parallel. However, I tend to limit my knitting a minimum of WIP because I’m scared to have so much one day! It’s too easy to start something new! For instance, I don’t want to start another sweater or cardi before I finish my eternal Thermal… Small projects are always ok!!!

  8. Nekoč davno – držala sam se jednog projekta ko pijan plota i nisam započinjala drugi dok prvi ne bi bio gotov!
    danas – nema dijela kuće u kojem nemam kakav projekat “da-se-nađe-na-dohvat-ruke”!

  9. I am still recovering from a massive case of startitis from a year ago. In fact, my goal for this year is to finish everything I started in the first six months of 2010 (and start just a *few* new projects as time permits…).

  10. Hey, I just saw your little sister’s dress (I havent been out here enough) – it is gorgeous! Lovely colour combination with those AWESOME buttons!

    • Thank you! I’m really happy with how well it was received both in the virtual and the real world :) Oh and in the photo from Monday I’m making a hat. I finished it that day but wasn’t happy with it (too big, I rushed too much and didn’t check during), so I shoved it aside while I decided whether to rip or not…

Leave a Reply

