Zagreb – the things you could(n’t) miss

Usually, when browsing through a guide through a foreign city, people look for those special details, the ‘hidden gems’, the things that ‘the annoying tourists’ haven’t discovered yet. I’m no exception to that rule. I love to ‘discover’ stuff I believe no-one has ever noticed, though in all honesty I know I’m not the first one.

But have you ever thought about the stuff that’s impossible to miss?

Like the chimney of the heating plant, with its ugly, bad, polluting, visible-from-any-spot-in-the-town smoke?

Or the hills that peak just behind the city (they’re accessible by tram!), giving it healthy lungs that can fight back the smoke?

Or the cathedral (ever scaffolded), towering over everything…

It’s precisely because these views are so ubiquitous that they can always be new. This is the first time I realize there’s a clock on the back of the cathedral tower. And I’ve seen it millions of times, just not from this particular angle.

And yes, there are the hidden gems too. So here’s a few hints from a local.

Zagreb is a city where you have to remember to look up. At ground-level, it might just look like a building full of shops on a busy street, but if you look up, you could be surprised by some elaborate artwork (even if it is in decay).

It might be a bank you’re seeing on the corner there. But if you look up, you could notice a fairy-tale turret.

It might just be an ordinary house with an ordinary modern-style window… But wait, what’s that little thing underneath?

It’s a remnant of a time when not everything needed a purpose. Some things were there just for the sake of beauty. Of making this town of ours a bit more interesting…

Just keep your eyes open – you’ll find plenty more…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “Zagreb – the things you could(n’t) miss

  1. totalno se slažem da treba gledati uvis . neke zgrade su fantastično ukrašene. recimo one na relaciji između glavnog kolodvora i jelačić placa.
    jesam li več rekla da obožavam zagreb ; )

  2. Čudno je koliko retko se setimo da pogledamo uvis. Čak i kad nema zgrada na kojima bismo mogli otkriti neku skrivenu lepotu, tu je nebo i, ako imamo sreće, drveće. Ja se često podsećam da pogledam gore. I uvek je pogled lep :)

    A toplana je ista kao i u NS, imam i ja par fotki jer mi uvek deluje apokaliptično, čak i kad je iza nje vedro nebo s paperjastim oblačcima.

  3. These are great! I have some pics of Zagreb when I was there during the Yugoslav period….We went to an outdoor market and I bought a pair og blue gloves and headband I still have! And we went to a big department store, it had loads of stuff and was huge and my hosts bought me a blanket that I still sleep under…it’s my favorite blanket…

    • Aw :) I can imagine exactly where you got those, I was thinking I’ll need to cover those spots too ;) I love those things one keeps forever – I still wear one shirt that I distinctly remember owning in primary school already!

  4. I’m really loving your virtual tour! I enjoy looking at old buildings and noticing those little touches. I’m also interested in reading more about Zagreb, thanks to you! :-)

  5. I loved this post!
    Maybe because of my interest in photography, I’m always attracted to detail and different perspectives.
    Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

