placebo crafting

I’ve had a crazy busy week with barely any time for crafting. The fact that most of my works in progress are in stages which really require time and attention doesn’t help. I’ve got sleeves to rip out and figure out a completely new (half-made-up) technique to rework them, I’ve got a neckband which created holes in an otherwise gorgeous vest that also needs to be redone, I’ve got stitches to be picked up on several projects, and so on… None of which I really feel like doing when I crash down on my sofa after spending the day at the computer translating or running around town for errands. So today, when I desperately needed a break, I came up with a quick ‘placebo’ crafting project, to tide me over this busy time.

I recently picked up some felt sheets at the craft store but didn’t really know what to do with them (apart from “try something with felt”). But then I saw this little tutorial. Exactly what I needed.

I used some embroidery thread which I had lying around (god knows why or how) and the needle I use for weaving in ends. Seriously, I didn’t even get up from my desk for this.

Please don’t mock my cutting skills. I’ll cry if you do.

Voila!

It asked for a little button. How could I say no?

Phew, I have crafted. I feel alive again. :)

How’ve you been this week? :)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

16 thoughts on “placebo crafting

  1. *mockmockmock* ;)

    But seriously, they’re that easy? I’m thinking I need to make a whole garland of these and string them over my mirror or around my bed or something.

    • *cry* ;)

      You totally do. (Need a garland I mean.) Come to think of it, I do too. Just this one already cheered up my room a ton! Imagine what a garland could do.

  2. I’ve seen this tutorial, but somehow I’m always a bit skeptical until I see other crafters making lovely things with it- your flower is so, so pretty!! absolutely love it.

Leave a Reply

