cherry on top

A few days ago, I got a message from Ravelry asking if I would agree to having a photo of one of my FOs included on the respective pattern page. Boy was I excited! :) I’ve seen people’s project photos being included on pattern pages before, but I never knew how one got to that stage. I still don’t really know (does it have something to do with the number of favourites? does it depend on the wishes of the designer?), but apparently I made it! :) And what a coincidence it was that I had just finished another FO of the same pattern!

It’s quite similar to my first one, actually, but I enjoyed changing little things. This time I used two solid, slightly thicker yarns. They produced a lovely corrugated rib (I still need advice on making corrugated rib less tight, though).

 

The striping sequence which follows is a very simple trick that adds playfulness to the design. I messed it up a bit (by not counting right), does that count as a modification? I think with this kind of design you don’t have to worry about being exact too much, consider the pattern to be just a guideline.

The thicker yarn also resulted in a slouchier hat, but when has that ever been a problem? :) We’re slouch-lovers here at Fridica Knits! :)

All in all, I ended up with a lovely warm hat with lots of room for putting my messy hair away, and a nice item for matching – since many of my winter accessories seem to be cherry-colour-based! And it arrived at the perfect time, just as winter sent round some snowflake messengers to let us know that it was not ready to leave yet…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

23 thoughts on “cherry on top

  1. Lovely hat! It’s to do with the designer, they’re the one that sends out the request to use a project photo on their pattern page. Well done!

    • Thanks! The stripe ryhthm was done per pattern, I can’t believe not more patterns use this slight variation – it creates such an interesting effect!

  2. Very nice hat. Beautiful photography for this post!
    Yes, the designer (or whoever is the moderator of the patterns in case the designer is not on Ravelry) makes the photo requests – I did that with some of my patterns, too :)

    • Oh, I just realized it could be misunderstood from the post – the photo invite was for my previous FO of the same pattern, not this one. Though honestly, I think these photos are far better ;)

  3. oh wow, that hat is SO pretty!! i love that deep red, I love the striping. And look at the snowflakes on your shawl! just gorgeous.

  4. LOVE the hat – it looks very attractive on you. I’ve had a couple of my FOs on the designer’s page. I don’t think it has to do with the number of favorites. I really don’t know what it has to do with…but I was sure thrilled when it happened! LOL!

  5. I love the hat and I LOVE the styling!!! The designer usually sends out those Ravelry requests if they like it, congratulations on getting your FO picked for the project page!

Leave a Reply

