who’s scared of provisional cast-on?

I was! I always used to modify patterns to avoid it: instead, I’d mattress stitch the ends together, or pick up stitches from a regular cast-on edge, whichever worked for the given pattern.

Until a few days ago. When, thanks to a note on one of Croline‘s projects, I found this method. It requires your regular project materials plus a little bit of scrap yarn and a crochet hook. Now, if you’re a regular reader here, you probably know that crochet and I don’t go so well together. Which means that this method is perfectly suitable to absolute crochet ignorants, like me. Because, within minutes of watching this video, I had myself a perfect little non-fussy provisional cast-on.

It doesn’t like to lie flat, but you can see the little start of a crochet chain in the top right corner, as well as how the cast-on (in pink) looks from the right and wrong side. I’m so thrilled with finding such an easy solution to my provisional cast-on troubles!

A good start to a little something I’m making for myself as part of Malabrigo March. :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

15 thoughts on “who’s scared of provisional cast-on?

  1. I love, love knitting youtube videos! I can’t tell you how many techniques I learned from them (and then forgot them promptly after I used them once).
    Your little something looks very soft!

    • Haha, I know what you mean about learning and forgetting them! But that’s the great thing about them – as long as you save the link somewhere (I always put it in my Ravelry notes), you can refresh your memory in a matter of minutes! :)

    • The deceptions of strategic photography… ;) Just kidding, it looks pretty damn good for a first try, which is exactly why I recommend the technique! :)

  2. I have had the same experience with provisional cast ons. I used to avoid them like you said and then I watched Lucy Neatby’s fantastic You Tube bit (quite similar to the link you posted) and it has changed my knitting life. This is a great way to start a toe up sock: provisionally cast on half the sock stitches, work short row toe, pick up other half of stitches and go. It’s great!

    • Hm, hadn’t thought of that! The very few socks I tried knitting started with Judy’s magic cast-on (I think that’s what it was called) and it worked a charm for toes, but I’ll have to try this as well!

  3. I used to be intimidated by the provisional caston too, until I tried it. Now, there’s no turning back, thank you very much, YouTube:) What’s your Malabrigo March project?

    • Oh, I’m glad you found it useful! Someone even told me the other day that they used it in order to have a contrast border – without ever undoing the provisional cast-on. I thought that was an interesting idea!

Leave a Reply

