hmmm

I thought I was almost done with my Burberry inspired cowl. I finished knitting and stitched the ends together loosely to see if it would be long enough. It was, but lo and behold, trying to wrap a neverending loop around your neck twice results in a rather bulky twisted lump at some point, especially if the said neverending loop is bulky itself. So now I’m not really sure how to deal with this. Alternative way of stitching the ends togeter (would stitching them together in a moebius fashion help?)? Not stitching them together at all but keeping it as a scarf? I don’t really like that option, the ends look too silly for scarf ends (and I wanted a cowl, so badly!). Attaching some buttons (where?) and making it some sort of scarf imitating a cowl with the help of buttons? I don’t know. I’m racking my brains.

And in the meantime, I’m wearing it as a turban. Don’t you think that might be its destiny? ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

19 thoughts on “hmmm

  1. I’m not sure what you could do, but it does look very warm and pretty! Maybe the buttons to make it into a cowl? A row of buttons on one end and on the other, you could maybe make crochet loops for buttonholes? That way you could close it like a cowl, but it would be easier to put it on. You might also be able to wear it as a scarf that way too. Whatever you do, I’m sure it will look great! :)

    Love the new look on your blog!

    • That’s definitely one of the options I’m considering, thank you for the input! :) I’m experimenting a bit with the blog look, the old one was getting boring :) Glad you like it!

    • Well, I still have the live stitches so I could knit it even longer, but I really really wanted to wear it the other way. That’s an excellent tip, though, I’ll keep it in mind for other projects – thanks!

    • Yup, that’s the most obvious solution. Actually, that’s how it’s written in the pattern. I’m just being stubborn and trying to have it my way :)

  2. Haha! It definitely needs to stay a turban! It’s just too good this way, way too fun!
    In all seriousness: maybe a chunky neckwarmer with ends sticking out at the bottom? Put a row of crochet or knitted picots on them if they’re too ugly. And attach via some shanked buttons if needed?
    Not sure if this is any help.

    I like your new blog background, very pretty.

  3. Oh foo…we didn’t make the same cowl after all. Mine is the Very Braidy Cowl, but they’re very similar. The women in my knitting group all did Burberries, but I didn’t have quite enough of the yarn I wanted to use, and Burberry took more. Just tonight, I flipped it up and wore it like a turban, so your picture really made me laugh.

    I’m thinking using some kind of catchy closure would be your best bet – some cool buttons, maybe.

    Love the new blog look! :-)

    • I’m tempted to go with the “Great minds think…” ;)))

      I think I looked at the other cowl pattern too, they looked incredibly similar (and had about the same number of projects on Ravelry I think)… I still need to finish this up!

Leave a Reply

