booties everywhere!

I was looking for a quick little baby gift the other day, and discovered this free pattern. There’s not much to tell apart from that. I tried it out, and fell in love. I’ve been making stay-on baby booties ever since!

This is my fourth one.

The first pair, which I haven’t photographed yet, was in a single solid colour. For the second one, I tried out some striping. The booties originally have a longer brim, which is then folded over, but I didn’t like the fact that striping in garter stitch inevitably has an obvious “wrong” side, so I decided to make the brim on these shorter, non-foldable. If you know any tricks for reversible garter-stitch striping, do tell!

The pattern is wonderfully easy and clever. It is knit on straight needles, all in garter stitch. It requires a tiny bit of picking up stitches and the simplest of decreases, and that’s it! Other than that it’s just knit knit knit. Perfect for knitting while your mind is elsewhere, say with an interesting audiobook, and done so quickly! As I’ve said, I’ve managed to squeeze in four of these over the weekend, while at the same time having a ton of work!

Not even to mention that this seems like the perfect thing to make a bunch of and keep on hand for unexpected gifting opportunities! Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to dream up some more colour combinations…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

14 thoughts on “booties everywhere!

  1. Cute!! What about knitting an extra row in the middle as the “turn down row” and then switching your striping? Only bad thing – they would ONLY look good turned down, you couldn’t wear them up.

  2. ……but on tiny wee legs you would have to turn them down otherwise they would be up to the baby’ knees. I think the extra row is the answer – and thank you – I am looking for the very pattern.

    • Which is exaaaactly what I had in mind! Are you a mind reader? I don’t have a proper teal, but it’s a nice blue anyway :) But before that, I’ve started ones that I’m calling Curry Booties, hehe :)

    • Thanks! There’s some great inspiration of Ravelry – someone even combined two colours to make the booties look like Mary Janes! There are so many combinations I want to try out… :)

Leave a Reply

