your knitting and crochet time

For more info on what it is, click the badge. And join in with the fun!

I’m really happy this topic came up in the Blog Week. It’s cause I have a confession to make. I feel guilty if I knit while it’s light outside.

Ok, are you done laughing? :) Well, it’s true. Even though it’s what I’m daydreaming about at most points in the day, I consider knitting only a hobby, a pleasure, a pastime. Something to do outside of ‘working hours’. In the evenings. But here’s the even funnier thing. I’m currently working as a freelancer. That means that I get to shape my own schedule for each day. I don’t have to work 9 to 5. I could knit 9 to 5 and work 5 to midnight. But I still feel guilty knitting before sunset. Being a freelancer also means that some weeks I’m working from 9am to midnight. And some weeks there is absolutely nothing to do. But, even on those latter weeks, I still feel guilty knitting before sunset. I guess it’s kind of like Sundays. Even if you’re on vacation and every day is the same, Sundays are still somehow ‘ugh’, ‘blue’ and ‘Sundayish’.

So that’s the majority of my knitting time – when it’s dark. When the working day is somehow officially over according to my crazy little brain. But here’s another confession – I knit in breaks from work too. Despite the feeling of guilt. It’s the guilty pleasures that are the best sometimes, isn’t it? ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

23 thoughts on “your knitting and crochet time

  1. My knitting time is definitely on Saturday and Sunday morning. This is also when I usually update my blog! Sometimes, I knit a little at night too, but for some reason, after a day of work, I often spend more time surfing on the net and reading blogs on weekday nights… You must be very disciplined as a free-lance to not knit all the time ;-)

  2. I once had a job where I could do home office whenever I wanted. So if I had many telephone conferences, I preferred doing them from my home ‘coz it meant I could knit whilst listening. That was double-productive. :)

    • There’s no way I could concentrate on a work telephone conference AND knit – that’s awesome of you! I do knit while talking to friends on skype, but that requires less concentration and no interrupting knitting to write an important piece of information down…

  3. Actually, that hardly sounds odd at all. I have a terrible time doing anything moderately relaxing between 9 to 5 as well, to the point where I hardly know what to do with myself when I have free time, really… Weird, isn’t it?

  4. I don’t like to knit in artificial light, mostly because the lighting in my studio apartment is soo bad. I prfer to knit during my morning coffee time, but if I’m really into a project, I will knit anytime, day or night ;)

    • I’ve gotten very skillful at placing my desk lamp (with one of those long extendable necks) directly over my hands so that I get the best possible lighting (I found a place to mount it where it can extend both to my desk and my bed, so it’s great both for work and for knitting :). But yes, I do prefer knitting when I don’t have to strain my eyes at all…

  5. I feel guilty if I sew or blog in the evenings and weekends as that eats into my time with the OH, even if he’s doing something else, I still feel I shouldn’t. Knitting I allow myself to do as I can chat and knit at the same time. I think we have mental perculialities about the way we structure our days. But I agree that guilty pleasures are sometimes the best!

    • I’ve had some experience with knitting and relationships, and I don’t find that guys mind. My favourite is when they watch a football game and I knit – we’re both doing something we like, yet we can sit together and exchange a few words here and there… Perfect! :)

      Btw, I’ve been wondering for the longest time – what does OH stand for exactly?

  6. Haha, that’s so interesting! I think it must be nice to save your knitting for the evening though. I’m sure you feel extra excited & motivated when it’s finally knit o’clock! I totally agree about Sundays too. Why are they always so… blah?

    • I do, you’re right! I’ve even started loving the feeling of “aah, I’m too exhausted to work anymore”, as it means I’m allowed to leave the computer and go knit! :D Thanks for stopping by on my blog, and sorry I’ve been so slow in responding – all these comments have been a bit overwhelming :)

  7. Wow, this is very interesting.
    I never feel guilty knitting/crochting so far!
    But I do feel guilty spending time on ravelry, reading blogs,
    general computer time. And keeping up with knitting and
    crochet blog week, very very guilty about doing that!
    Weird..

  8. Heheheh, well as long as you’re happy with your schedule, that’s all that counts. I feel guilty if I watch TV without knitting, because it feels like wasted time when I could be more productive.

    • Ooooh, I know that feeling! Though it kinda works the other way around for me – I feel guilty if I knit without also watching tv or listening to an audiobook. It’s funny how we have this constant need to multitask, even if it means multitasking our leisure activities!

  9. Very interesting! I sometimes feel that way too, not enough to stop me from knitting during the day, but I’ll have this feeling that I should be doing something else. I do like to knit with natural light though, so I do usually knit a bit during the day :)

  10. I have always felt the same as you, not just with knitting but with anything that is not ‘work’. I blame it on my Scottish calvanistic upbringing. No fun till the work is done (and it’s never done).

  11. For a very very long time I’d felt that time for handwork was in days around christmas’ and new year’s holidays. But now I do it all year around, in the evening, in the morning, in spring, in winter, on vacations, on mondays, on train … well, except while i’m eating or working.

Leave a Reply

