the bootie craze

You may have noticed in the last few weeks that I developed a slight (khm) bootie craze… It all started with knitting a hat for a young mother. Mention a baby to me and I go crazy. I knew immediately that I couldn’t hand over the hat without making a sweet li’l something for her 4-month-old son too. I needed something cute, useful and quick.

Enter this free pattern. Having way too many single balls of fingering weight yarn at my disposal anyway, it didn’t take me long to pick one out and cast on. I’ve raved about the pattern before so I won’t go into the details too much – just to say that it’s perfectly simple and easily customisable for a larger size. If you give it a try but don’t like it too much, there’s another one that gives a very similar result. Both are free and both have about the same number of projects on Ravelry so I guess there’s no serious flaw in either of them. I did try the second one too but it didn’t work so well for me. And by then I already knew the first bootie pattern by heart, and – being perfectly happy with it – didn’t see the point in investing effort to work out the second one.

I finished the booties in a couple of hours! Such gratification – a few hours of mostly mindless knitting (perfect for when your brain is blank and you just want to relax) and all of a sudden you have a tiny little treasure lying around the house! Aaand they make the perfect little extra for when you’re gifting a baby, or someone with  a baby. I made a few more pairs instantly (I told you I got the craze), you’ll be seeing them later on.

And now I’m thinking that they’d be a great matching item too… With a baby hat, or even a cardigan… Hmm…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “the bootie craze

  1. Adorable! I love your pictures!!! Booties are so cute! Most of my friends don’t have children and the few that do, their children are too old for booties. I’m sure I’ll knit some booties though when a friend has a baby! :D

  2. LOVE the booties among the beautiful little spring flowers (which we have yet to have any of here in Ohio…waaaaahhhh…)! I wonder if these would work well in cotton…

  3. Pingback: almost wordless wednesday | fridica

Leave a Reply

