making pom-poms

Last weekend, I had my favourite visitors over – my niece (13) and nephew (7). These kids… I can’t even begin to write about how much I love them and love spending time with them. I take special pride in them calling me by my name (rather than ‘auntie’), as well as in the fact that they head straight for my room the moment they arrive to my parents’ house (there are some advantages to living at home, after all). And so it happened that on Friday evening all three of us were sitting on my bed and wondering what we should do, when my eyes wandered over to the Clover pom-pom maker which I had bought a few months ago (at a much lower price than the one currently listed on Amazon, though!). In the spur of the moment, I suggested we make some pom-poms, thinking this might amuse us for a half hour or so.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. My friends, we kept on making pom-poms until it was time to go to sleep. And the next morning, when we decided to have a picnic in the back yard, the activity of choice was again – pom-pom making! The looks of intense concentration on these two kids’ faces hung around all day, and they were constantly trying to get nicer and more colourful pom-poms.

I am still amazed, most of all at my own failure to put two and two together before: kids love doing things with their hands and creating stuff. I do too. Why haven’t we been creating things all this time? Sure, my nephew asks for coloured pens and paper to draw on the moment he walks into my room, but it had never occured to me before that he would also enjoy the fibery creativity that I indulge in so regularly. Lesson learned. Between now and their next visit I’m going to be scouring the Internet for other creative activities for kids.

In the meantime, I’ll try to make some sort of a useful (well, maybe not useful, but pretty) object from all the pom-poms we made, to keep it as a reminder of how much fun we can have with the simplest of tools. I’ll let you know how it goes. One thing’s for sure, though: I won’t be short of materials.

And if you’re wondering where all these different colours and fibers came from – yes, I did let them loose in my stash. That alone should tell you how much I love them… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

18 thoughts on “making pom-poms

  1. You let them into your stash! That with no doubt tell us how much you love them. And those pom-poms are gorgeous.

  2. That is so cute. When I visited my best friend before Christmas her 5 year old daughter wanted to play knitting like me. Her mum suggested that she ask me nicely to show her how to do it for real. It was a lovely way to spend my visit and when I returned a few weeks later we carried on! Kids really do love to make stuff and enjoy spending quality time with adults they don’t normally see.

    • Play knitting aaaaaw! I have thought of teaching my niece to knit, but I’m not sure her attention span would be long enough… Though, after this even with pompoms, I might be wrong!

  3. This post is so cute! What a lovely moment you spent with your “favorite visitors”!
    There’s no age to like making pompoms! I turned 26 but I still love making them! If I could, I’ll sew pompoms to all my garments!

  4. What lucky kids! I’ve never been a fan of pompoms, even though I have a brand new, unopened pompom maker in my basement. You may have convinced me pompoms could be fun… :-)

  5. Oh, koliko si pisala, a ja nisam dosla da vidim …. ali evo me sada :)
    Kakvo divno vreme, u ova 2 poslednja posta, da se prave tako lepe stvari i fotografije :)

  6. Aww! I remember when my sister and I were little and someone introduced us to pompoms. Except instead of making a mobile or putting them on clothing or anything remotely sensible, we made a ridiculous amount of them and put them on “leashes” and dragged them around like pets. :)

    • That is ABSOLUTELY awesome. I just love the image of the two of you walking your pet pompoms :) I used to make them with my mom when I was a kid, and I distinctly remember we once made a bunch of small ones then connected them to make a puppet which I gifted to a friend for his birthday. It was loads of fun, probably more for the two of us to make than for him to receive :D (boys… ;)

  7. That was a stroke of genius :)
    When I was in junior high, my best friend made me a pompom as part of a birthday gift. It’s gray, kinda furry-looking and it has a long purple tail. I still cherish it now, almost 15 years later.

  8. Yes, my niece and nephews re some of my favoritest people and I love them to bits, but don’t think I could let them loose in the stash! However, my niece has helped me enhance my stash on several occassions!

Leave a Reply

