you may call me The Master of Ends

Take the following ingredients, and add them in this order:

– fiddly pattern (not by fault of designer, but simply by being a garment that can’t help but be fiddly),
– realizing you need to make something longer after you’ve already cast off and cut yarn,
– knots in yarn in the most inconvenient of locations,
– buttons.

Stir well, boil for about 10 minutes, and this is what you get.

And what is that, you ask? Lots, and lots, and lots of ends to weave in. You’d think it was a full size jumper rather than a tiny accessory we were talking about here. Nope. Tiny accessory it is.

And the point of this post? Oh nothing, just to give myself a little pat on the back. For being so dilligent and weaving them all in immediately. What is it you’re saying? Oh, you think we should all stop moaning about weaving in ends and admit that it’s much easier and quicker to do than we build it up to be? Yeah, you’re right. I fully agree.

But still. Moan. Pat pat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

7 thoughts on “you may call me The Master of Ends

    • There is a method to do that – when you join in a new ball you just knit a few stitches with both strands and then continue onwards with the new one – no end to weave in, just chop it off! But it can go terribly wrong, especially if you’re working with thicker yarns, because it can be pretty obvious. However, if you did it with say fingering weight yarn and on some part of the garment that isn’t terribly visible, it is a good alternative. :)

      • I use this method most of the time. You can always tell where it is but I’m usually not that fussy ;)

  1. I like weaving ends in — which scares me after reading this post because now I’m thinking maybe I’m doing it all wrong and that’s why I enjoy it, LOL.

  2. I think I’ve finally made peace with weaving ends in…but maybe not. LOL! I like knitting them in for some projects, but not all, and I’m always worried that they’ll unravel themselves during blocking. So weave, weave, weave…

Leave a Reply

