doilies and yarn

They do make such lovely wrapping materials, don’t they?

Lately I’ve been taking extra care to make my knitted deliveries look special when they set out for their new homes. It’s definitely exciting to receive a handknit, but to receive a handknit that has been carefully and lovingly wrapped, well in my book that’s doubly wonderful!

I’ve also been trying my hand at little improvised labels.

Oh my, have you noticed how difficult it is to put care of knitwear into writing? Trying to explain handwashing, squeezing water out with towel, drying on a flat surface to someone who’s never done it before in a few succinct phrases – I definitely don’t have the hang of it yet! I keep running out of space… :)

Happy weekend! ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

9 thoughts on “doilies and yarn

  1. Lovely! I agree about how hard it is to label something. A few years back, I knit a shawl for a silent auction donation and did a cute little printed label on the computer. Lucky for me, it was acrylic – machine wash gentle/tumble dry low. LOL!

  2. Bas lepo, i vidi se, za ljubavlju upakovano.
    Da, bas je problem objasniti nekom u par reci kako da odrzava pletenu stvar, ne samo pranje, nego i cuvanje preko leta. Zato ja uvek kazem : “Kad pozelis da operes, onda me zovi!”, jer znam da ce do tada sve zaboraviti :)

  3. Yes, that’s very hard to do. Sometimes I include the yarn wrapper with the care and feeding instructions. Your packaging is great tying it with the yarn you used. The recipient has the perfect match if they need to mend the item someday.

Leave a Reply

