WIP Thursday

I always seem to remember about FO Fridays on Saturdays and about WIP Wednesdays on Thursdays. Which is one of the reasons I don’t participate in them. But today I’ve decided to forget about rules and so you’re getting a WIP Thursday. Who cares it doesn’t rhyme.

My knitting mojo has been so-so since coming to Brussels… There’s something about not being in my own space that always results in me reaching for my knitting very rarely. But I’m going to be here for a while, and I’m not willing to go without knitting for so long. So I’ve been slowly nourishing the mojo with what always works best at Fridica house. Hats.

The Autumn Vines Beret is now in possession of a brim.

Ever since I first saw this pattern I haven’t been able to shake off the impression that it is extremely similar to Rose Red. I am looking forward to seeing how it differs as I knit, though. One major difference already has been that it’s knit from the brim to the top (Rose Red starts off at the top of the hat and expands from there). So far, there’s been quite a bit more cables than I like to do, but they also help push me along, because when I see a cable round coming up I think to myself – ok, let’s just get it over with… And then knit that round. And then maybe the next one. And the next…

The Autumn Vines definitely isn’t your TV knitting though. It requires constant consultation with the chart and constant attentiveness. Luckily, I do have another hat going that is the embodiment of TV knitting. I had bought the pattern for Jane a long while ago, when Jane was having a pattern sale on her website. I’ve been waiting for a good yarn to come up for it, and when I weighed out the amount left over from Honey, I knew I had the winner. I can imagine no yarn more perfect for this project than Osprey.

The pattern is quite simple, except for one part – it includes folding the brim in half and sewing it together. I made sure to do this while I was still at home and had my knitting manuals on hand (though I ended up making up my own method to sew it together). Now I’m onto the main body of the hat, which consists of eyelet ribbing – a simple four round repeat that is unbelieavably easy to memorise and fun to do. I’m guessing this one won’t be in the WIP section for much longer. Perhaps it might qualify for an FO Saturday soon… ;)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

16 thoughts on “WIP Thursday

  1. Ooh! I can’t wait to see it when it’s done! I love the color you picked for it.

    I don’t know if you’re into it at all, but I recently started listening to audiobooks when I knit more complicated things. I’d been watching various tv shows during my knit-athons but realized I was hardly looking at the screen because I had to keep checking the patterns/charts. Audiobooks only require listening!

    • I find that more complicated patterns require me to use my brain to the extent that I cant listen to audiobooks either.. But Im always listening to them when I knit simpler stuff – can you give me some recommendations? For a while now Ive been listening to the complete Harry Potter (yum Stephen Fry!), but thatll soon be over, so Ill need something new… I do find that the reader is key to whether I like it or not… If I dont like the readers voice and his or her interpretation it puts me off completely…

      • Ohh fair point. I actually just finished listening to the His Dark Materials trilogy narrated by Phillip Pullman and a full cast. Absolutely loved it. I also recently went through the entire Harry Potter series but it was the Jim Dale version (apparently he got into the Guinness book of world records for creating 140 unique character voices by himself!). I have the Stephen Frye version too but haven’t listened to it yet. Yay audiobooks!

      • The amazing thing about Fry’s interpretation is that his voices at times seem so similar to the ones in the movies (I really have to investigate which came first…). I’m not a huge fan of the books, but he really brings them to life. Also, if you like sort of half-fantasy, Neil Gaiman has a bunch of free audio and video stuff on his website, including the entire “The Graveyard Book” read by him in several installments during the book tour. Highly recommended.

  2. Those two are both hats that, were it not for the fact that I already *have* 24 hats, I’d knit in a heartbeat.

    And yes, audiobooks. There is nothing that beats audiobooks for complicated knitting. Especially ones you’ve listened to so many times you don’t really need to *listen* to them to keep up with the story.

    • I have the fortune of having a dear person here with whom I can stay for a while – and since my work is mobile, I’m, well, just living life as usual, but in Brussels :)

  3. I hope you finish the green hat soon! It looks like it’s going to turn out cute.

    I split my knitting up like that sometimes. It just makes sense to have some simple knitting going at the same time as something complicated.

  4. I’m a huge fan of having a few different types of knitting & crocheting projects going so that I can work on them while doing different types of tasks. Television watching and meetings (yes, I do knit during meetings!) require easy peasy patterns. And on those rare occasions when I have a couple of uninterrupted hours to myself, I take out the more complicated patterns that require my brain to actually pay attention. Can’t wait to see your FO … and maybe you will get to post it by Saturday!

Leave a Reply

