Sunday in Brussels

Yesterday was the perfectest spring Sunday you could imagine. And the perfect opportunity to do THE Sunday thing in Brussels – going to the flea market. So I pulled on one of my hats (my preferred method of ‘styling my hair’ on Sundays ;), grabbed my camera, and off I went! Care to join me?

The flea market is held every day on this square just outside the centre of the city, but Sundays are the liveliest.

Oh yes, and of course it comes with a soundtrack too. :)

Ok, are you ready to jump in and wade through the sea of the randomest stuff?

If only I could read French…

Even anatomy students may not walk away disappointed…

I also spotted a few things that crafters could find useful.

This yarn-related thing intrigued me particularly. Do you have any idea what it might be? My best guess is an old swift. If that’s what it is, it’s pretty impressive!

The sellers themselves are quite colourful too.

But despite their grim looks, they’re always ready for a deal.

I suck at haggling, but I enjoyed observing it… The stall where I was really tempted to buy was at the very beginning. I would love to have one of these hanging somewhere in my imaginary perfect flat…

But my favourite thing about this flea market is imagining the stories behind the items. It’s not rare that you find an old family album in the heaps of stuff offered for sale. It always makes me wonder – where are these people? Is there no one left behind who’d like to cherish these photos? Or is there someone who’s sad that his or her grandparents’ photos have been lost and would be moved if they were returned to him or her? Sometimes I think I should buy the albums and try to track the people down… I also wonder about girls who used to play with these dolls…

And the hands that spent hours making these… Would they be terribly sad to see them so unloved now?

Such philosophical issues, however, are best discussed over a cool glass of beer in the sun. So grab your finds, do a few more rounds until you spot a free table, and then rest your tired feet and imagine away…

Thanks for coming along…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

17 thoughts on “Sunday in Brussels

  1. When I lived in France there was a flea market I’d go to nearly every Sunday morning. For some reason there were always several grim looking old gentlemen selling sideview mirrors for cars and headlights. Because so many people shop for car parts at flea markets.. hee.

    • That kind of thing is actually quite common at flea markets in Croatia, so I don’t find it too strange. And people do go there to buy such spare parts, esp. if it’s for old cars for which you can’t find new spare parts because they’re simply not produced anymore.

      • Ohhh that actually makes a lot of sense! I guess that wouldn’t be popular here in Americaland where people only want the newest car. :)

  2. That yarny contraption does look like a skeinwinder/swift. I wonder why it has all those gears.

    Don’t much fancy flea markets myself, actually. I’d love to imagine the stories behind items, like you do, but the attitude of some sellers bothers me. Can’t I just look? Do you have to badger me about buying something?

    • I know what you mean! I move away as soon as I see that look on a seller’s face of starting to approach me… I didn’t feel much like that here, though – I’m guessing the fact that the whole place was crowded and that they didn’t really have time to badger each individual person helped. Or it could be just the Belgians. They’re ridiculously nice.

  3. I went to this market when I was in Brussels years ago, and it was amazing!! I love your photos, they brought back great memories for me.

  4. Sad si me sjetila kako sam jednom kupila haljinu na Hreliću (za 5kn, naravno), slatka ljetna haljinica boje senfa s bijelim točkicama. I kužilo se da nije konfekcijska, da je to netko sam šio na mašinu, pa se onda cura mrvicu udebljala, pa se haljina malo isparala na bokovima, pa su to morali krpat… I bila sam naravno sva puna priča i fantazija i prošloj vlasnici te haljine.
    Dok kad nešto kupim u velikim lancima, moram dobro pazit da ne mislim o onima koji su je šivali jer padnem u depresiju.

  5. Ok…I have to go to Brussels…we just do NOT have flea markets like this here in Ohio. I want the dolls, the linens, a leg or two, and probably at least half of the jewelry and dishes and that awesome old swift. Oh…and the guy checking the skeleton for a pulse is kinda cute…maybe him, too… ;-)

Leave a Reply

