gray

Hello all. I’ve been meaning to tune in here for a few days and explain my abrupt and prolonged absence, but somehow I kept putting it off, not really knowing how to go about it. I’ve considered just not saying anything because I don’t want to create a big fuss, but at the same time I feel like I’ve grown very close to my permanent readers and have a need to give you some explanation for my disappearance, just like I’ve been giving my “real-life” friends in the last few days.

A few moments after I wrote the last post, I received a phonecall telling me that my grandma had passed away. Apart from the emotional upheaval, this also meant an abrupt change to my April plans and for the last ten days or so my life has been quite topsy-turvy. And I haven’t felt like blogging much either.

I am now slowly emerging from all that, and I guess it’s time to come back here as well. While my mood is still slightly gray, there is sunshine popping back out from behind, and we’ll be returning to business as usual (here’s a little sneak of things to come).

In the end – just a small request. I know most of you will want to write kind words and give support – but to be honest I’d prefer if we could skip that conversation. My aunt said yesterday that she was dreading going back to work precisely because of having to face all the expressions of condolences, no matter how sincerely and supportingly meant, and I know what she means. I know you feel for every member of our little community, and I assure you I feel the support even without words. So, instead of writing under this post, be assured that they your words are as good as written, and rather go and read the story about my grandma written a year ago. Thank you. Hugs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

15 thoughts on “gray

  1. I just red on Raverly that those socks are the first one that you’ve made. They look pretty professional to me :) And I like that they are made from toes.
    Da probijemo led ;)

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. Grandmas are so special and it’s hard to see them go. Take care. xx
    PS: Nice socks! I am yet to attempt my first toe-up socks.

  3. I very much like that the ribbing is so different, these are very cool. They also look like a very good fit, very comfy, I’m sure! It will be lovely to see these finished.
    All the best with everything.

  4. Oooh! I just knit my first pair of socks this weekend and they definitely are not as pretty as these. (In their defense, they are men’s socks in worsted weight, but still!)

    -hugs-

  5. I gave up on my first toe -up socks as I had knit them too long. These look great. Well done you – I might just try again.

  6. I love grey and I love the little cables around the tops of your socks. My sock knitting has almost stopped completely since the sun arrived. I have a grey sock on the go somewhere though. I might drag it out and see about finishing it off before the real summer gets here.

  7. I haven’t knit socks from the toe up yet. I only knit them from ankle down. And I have only knitted them on dpns. I have this quirky way of dividing stitches that makes it easy for me to do the heels. I don’t know if I could manage on circular needles. I love grey. It is one of my favourite colours. I really like the cabling at the top too.

Leave a Reply

