sock fun

Whoa, I am totally loving the construction of these socks! There are so many interesting elements, I am never bored! Check out my first ever heel flap.

Pretty cool. And it looks super sturdy too. You wanna see the wrong side?

I’ve since gone a few steps further and have started working on the gusset (I still couldn’t define a gusset if you asked me to, but as long as I can make it… ;) ). I have to say I really loved this heel construction, it looks way neater and sturdier than the short-row heel I did on my first socks. And it was more fun to do too!

I’m already looking around for my Third Socks and having to tell myself to take them one at a time. Luckily I only have one 2mm cable needle so I can’t start new ones without finishing these. Good disciplinary method, for sure!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

5 thoughts on “sock fun

  1. A sock gusset is that triangular area that gives your foot enough space in the sock in the thicker area where the leg flares into the foot, near the ankle. Without one a sock would consist of two tubes at a right angle and pull horribly at the junction – it wouldn’t be at all comfortable to wear.
    Socks like these Kai-Mei ones don’t emphasise the extra width in the gusset area as a distinct triangle but it is still there and allows for the extra space. I am really intrigued by these! Can’t wait to see the result as well as hear about your progress.

  2. Ahh, I like that type of heel too – I’ve only done it on baby socks, but I like how mooshy and neat it is :) And it only dawned on me recently what the difference between insteps and gussets is (although now I think about it, I can’t remember -_- )

  3. Looking Good! Cuff down is the only method of sock construction I’ve done – so far. I like it as makes it easy to fit, easy to knit and interesting all at the same time. Cookie A patterns usually always use this method.

  4. Yay for new sock knitters! You’re on your second pair, I’m the second half of my first pair. I enjoyed the heel flap; I’m thinking my second pair will have a short-row heel, so I can try that method out. We’ll see. :-)

    • It’s a lot of fun trying it all out! I’ve been trying to make sure I knit the second one immediately, I’m a little scared by everyone’s stories of how difficult it is to find motivation for the Second Sock. :P

Leave a Reply

