fallback project

You know how I said that sock knitting was hurting my fingers and I needed another project to fall back on when the pain from gripping small needles appears? Well, I found one. And then, several episodes of Doctor Who later…

The “fallback” project seems to have somehow taken over. I didn’t touch my sock once yesterday. This was too much fun! :)

I’ve been wanting to make this baby/toddler cardigan ever since I first saw it. It was one of the main reasons why I bought the book (this one), though I love most the patterns in it. But somehow I could just never find the right yarn for it. Until two days ago, when I realized I had the perfect amount of the perfect yarn in my stash!

In DK weight on 3.5mm needles, after days of only sock knitting, this feels like super-loose knitting. The diamond pattern is easy to follow (even if you’re giving more attention to Matt Smith than to it) and is creating a sort of quilted look.

I have a feeling that I’ll need another fallback project soon… This one might not last much longer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

10 thoughts on “fallback project

  1. The beauty of our stashes!! This is such a beautiful pattern, and I can absolutely see how you don’t want to stop knitting it. I can’t wait to see the completed sweater.

  2. It is nice to have a break from sock knitting. Lovely little cardigan. I still haven’t got that book yet. I really must invest in one. Great colour yarn. How are you enjoying Matt Smith as Dr Who?

    • I only got into Dr Who (more accurately, I only learned of its existence) last year, so I don’t have much grounds for comparison :) but I like his character a lot. Though again, having no grounds for comparison, I’m not sure how much they vary the Doctor’s personality with the different incarnations, and which parts are Matt Smith’s interpretation and which are “the essence of the Doctor” ;)

      That said, I think I liked last season’s episodes better. Let’s see how it develops. The next episode is written by Neil Gaiman and I think I might just have a little geeky heart-attack at the Dr. Who – Gaiman combo :)))

      p.s. Sorry, you asked. I’m a geek at heart, once you get me started… ;)

  3. Very cute! I love the color…. and I love Dr. Who. I need to catch up, I’ve heard the most recent season is getting awesome!

Leave a Reply

