starting over

I’ve gotten to the stage where I feel a bit overwhelmed with all the half-finished projects I have lying around and need to sort them out. It’s nothing unusual, an already familiar sensation that I welcome every once in a while, because I know it gives me the impetus to tie up loose ends (no pun intended) and go on. It means not only finishing up the projects I have on the go before starting any new ones, but more importantly, dealing with those things that I have pushed away into some dark corner because I was stuck with them and didn’t know in which direction to go. Sometimes that means finding a creative solution, or even just getting on with it, and sometimes it means ripping.

On this particular project I’ve been debating ripping with myself for a while. I finished Jane in about three weeks’ time, but I was not happy with it. The main problem was the fact that I was working with tiny scraps of yarn, and this got worse towards the end of the hat, where I had to join a new thread on every round, and to skip the last round of decreases (which then resulted in a very big hard hole at the top of the hat – because I had to thread through about 20 stitches, rather than 10). It turned out much more snug than I like my hats, with a million ends to weave in (and hope the whole top of the hat doesn’t come apart), and this big hole on top. Still, overall it looked nice and I wondered if I should just weave in the ends, block it and gift it to someone with a small head who liked snug hats. Indecision ensued. Most of my friends know, to what I can only imagine is great frustration which is endured quite stoically (thank you), that if I am the master of anything, it is indecision.

But today, finally, the decision was made. I need to do this properly. So I ripped. Once the psychological part was out of the way, I thought ripping would be easy, but it actually proved quite a challenge. As I said, I had been working with scraps of yarn and I had come up with various creative ways to put this hat together. Of course, when I’m knitting, I don’t expect to rip back, so I don’t think about doing things in a way that would make it easy to rip. Hm. Well, I got there in the end, and now I’m ready to start over.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

6 thoughts on “starting over

  1. you sure were not kidding when you said that you were using scraps– those are some very tiny balls at the end.
    waste not want not!!!!
    I have a jar sitting in my knit basket now that collects all the odd scraps of yarn when I cut off ends after sewing and I use those also. lately I have been wadding them up and felting them turning them into colorful balls to play with or throw in the dryer to bounce around and help the clothes dry faster.

  2. Wow! Those are some small bits of yarn! Good for you for making a decision – I’m sure you’ll be much happier with the hat this time! :D I just made the decision today to rip out a hat that was too big – I could have probably worn it but I’m sure I don’t have enough yarn to finish it as it is!

  3. LMAO! Those little balls of yarn crack me up. I love how you lined them up and made them “art” in your picture though. ;)

    I swear I’m not laughing at you having to rip out your work, though!

Leave a Reply

