what I wore yesterday

Guess what I wore yesterday? My first very own knitted socks! :)

This has been a long time coming, but better late than never. I got my basic instructions and stitch counts from Wendy Johnson’s book Socks from the toe up. I really can’t recommend this book enough, if you’re a sock beginner it’s the perfect thing, with detailed explanations of sock construction, many drawings for basic techniques, and a choice of several techniques to use for each section of the sock. (And after you go through all that, there’s a good number of sock patterns too.)

My socks are constructed with:

Judy’s magic cast-on – a small miracle, if you ask me! If you don’t know this method, you should really check it out.

.

A short-row heel – this was OK, but not great. There are definitely some holes on the join between the short rows and the front of the foot (even though I picked up extra stitches to prevent it – it didn’t help), and the heel doesn’t feel terribly sturdy. Having tried a slipped-stitch heel in the meantime, I’d say I much prefer it to this method.

.

A Russian bind-off – again, I was so-so about this one, and I’ll be looking for improvements. It’s just stretchy enough, getting the socks over my heel is a bit of an effort but it works. Next time I do a toe-up sock I’ll be trying Jeny’s surprisingly stretchy bind-off (don’t you just love these names?).

.
When I started the socks, I thought it would be best to just do plain socks without any stitch patterns, to get the hang of the sock construction itself. However, pretty soon I got bored. Most of it, after all, is just plain tube knitting. So I started thinking – I wanted to add something that wouldn’t distract me too much from the construction but would add a little bit of interest. And then I remembered the socks I had been admiring a few weeks earlier, made by two blogging friends (and my most recent favourite discoveries in the blog world) Jenny and Dona. A simple cable at the back, yes – that was exactly what would do the trick!
.
Mmmm, what a brilliant idea from those two girls! When I did the second sock, I actually mirrored the cables, to add a bit more interest, though I can’t tell you which one is right and which one left! It doesn’t really matter… Finally, when it came to ribbing, I thought it would be nice to make something that would flow nicely with the cable in the back (I love patterns that flow well from one section to the next), and did the cabling in the same cable pattern. I think that was a good decision! :)

.

And there you go – I made my first socks. I’m so happy that this watershed is behind me now and I’m looking forward to many more socks to come. There was a special kind of thrill yesterday when I realized all my socks were in the laundry and I had to wear my handknitted ones. ;) Oh, and yes – they are as warm as people say…

.
All the details on how I did the cabling and construction can be found on my project page.
.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

7 thoughts on “what I wore yesterday

  1. Welcome to the world of sock knitters! You will never be able to wear store bought socks anymore, you will stash sock yarn like crazy, and always have a sock on your needles! :)

    Your first pair is beautiful! You made an awesome work!

    • Yes, welcome to our little sock-knitting club! Once you start, you cannot stop… These are beautiful – a very well-done first pair! You should be really proud of yourself. Now, the question is: which pattern will you be knitting next?

  2. Lovely socks! :D Congratulations! They look amazing, I love the cables. Welcome to the obsession! Aren’t they the best socks you’ve ever worn?

    • They are really lovely to wear. I wore them with sneakers out yesterday and around the house today. I prefer the second option for now, but we’ll see how that develops… Do you wear yours regularly outside (I mean in shoes)?

Leave a Reply

