Next Socks

The thing about socks is – you finish one and then there isn’t much to blog about anymore, because all you’re doing is doing it all again. And who wants to see photos of that? :D Luckily, my second Kai-Mei is going much much faster than the first one so there ought to be a proper FO post soon. In the meantime, here’s what I plan to start as soon as Kai-Meis are done.

Photo is ownership of Interweave

It’s another pattern from Cookie A’s Sock Innovation, called Sam and inspired by Cookie’s dad. One of the really sweet things about this book is the personal story that comes with each pattern – explaining who the socks were named after and why that person is influential in Cookie’s life. I love reading them and it really sets the patterns apart – it makes them something a bit more than technical instructions.

I’m going to be using the skein of madelinetosh tosh merino light I won in a giveaway from Photo.Knit.Dog a while ago. I had already tried using it once, but that ended up ripped because I disliked the pooling.

However, the little bit of sleeve I knitted before frogging made me confident that I would like the look of this yarn a lot more done in a small circumference. If you look at the 2 cm between the needle and the armhole (the bit that was done in a small circumference), you’ll notice that the pooling is quite different there. I hope it will work nicely and not clash too much with the cable pattern. The pattern calls for a 100% merino yarn and it makes me happy that I actually had that in my stash.

I’ll let you know as soon as I cast on! :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , by fridica. Bookmark the permalink.

About fridica

I started knitting completely by accident, when I was visiting my parents for a holiday in 2008. On a boring Sunday afternoon, I decided to dig through their stash of books to see if there was anything interesting to take back to my apartment. A knitting manual happened to be one of the books I found. I got curious, my mom immediately dug out her old needles and yarn stash (which she hadn’t used in a decade at least), and in a few minutes we were both casting on - she by memory, I by following the instructions from the book… :) Since I normally prefer learning from books, this was ideal.. I took the book home with me, and very very soon - I was an addict.

18 thoughts on “Next Socks

  1. Wow! I just saw the pictures of your Kai-Mei! Gorgeous! I think you’re already addicted to socks – isn’t it fun? Sock Innovation has some lovely patterns, I want to knit most of the socks in the book and I agree about the stories, it does make the patterns more interesting.

    The left Kai-Mei has some errata, there’s a link on the pattern page on Ravelry.

    Sam will look lovely in that yarn! The colors do look nicer in the sleeve.

    • Thanks for the heads-up, luckily I had checked for errata but it seems that they were already corrected in the version of the book I have :) And you’re right, I am totally addicted. I’ll definitely be making more from the book, they’re so special.

  2. Socks, gloves, leg warmers … I know what you mean about knitting the second one and not feeling like you have something new to show for it BUT I really like seeing the objects in pairs so I look forward to seeing your completed Kai-Meis.

    When I think back to your profile where you write that you accidentally came upon knitting in 2008, I’m so impressed by how far you’ve traveled in your skills. Socks can be one of the most intimidating projects to knit for some people but you’ve jumped right in. I love knitting socks and love seeing how others embrace it, too. Yay!

    • Hehe, the knitting bug caught me then by accident but it’s not letting go, that makes me so happy :) Now I only regret that I hadn’t discovered knitting earlier in my life! :)

  3. Haha. I never thought of the problem that exists when blogging about a pair of something. (I’m more of a hat knitter) I’d still love to see the pair of socks anyways.

  4. I’m also in love with Cookie A ‘s patterns in Sock Innovation. It’s my first knitting book I’ve purchased and I hope to knit all the socks in the book. I’m just finishing 1st sock of Wanida – it’s beautiful.

    • Heh, ja se to nisam sjetila sad kad sam plela ove bijele! Nisam mijenjala mustru, ali sve se mjeri na centimetre. I onda doem do pete i ne znam koliko sam tono redova napravila da postignem taj ba broj cm… Bilo je brojanja i naprezanja oiju! Sljedei put u valjda biti pametnija pa zapisivati koliko sam gdje redova isplela… :)

  5. The new sock pattern looks super sweet. Maybe I need to check out this Cookie A character everyone’s always talking about…

    • To be honest, when it comes to wearing socks, I think I’d prefer simpler ones. But these are so much fun to make! They’re like little knitted masterpieces, I’d be willing to knit them just to have them around without even wearing them :D

  6. Love your socks! I only made one par long time ago, but I never got into them, I know that the time is going to come for me too. I hope so, because I would love to make a nice pair!

  7. It’ll be interesting to hear what you think of this pattern. I did not enjoy it that much and it is somewhat troublesome to get the finished socks over the heels.

  8. Pingback: there and back again | fridica

Leave a Reply

